Nick Jonas Takes Flight With 'Spaceman,' Says His Songs Are 'Love Letters' to Wife Priyanka Chopra Jonas

Nick Jonas
Anthony Mandler

Nick Jonas

Nick Jonas is ready to embark on a solo trek again after launching the title track of his upcoming third album, Spaceman, Thursday (Feb. 25).

The cosmic rhythmic song captures Jonas' fear of isolation -- a fitting theme during the pandemic -- and how he's trying to safely make it back home to the love of his life, his wife Priyanka Chopra Jonas.

He told Apple Music's Zane Lowe on Thursday that when "words with no music" fail to express his love for the Bollywood actress, music speaks. "Most of the songs are pretty much just love letters, which, when I can't articulate the way I feel with my words with no music, I go to the studio," the 28-year-old singer said. "And I'm grateful to have that because it makes her happy, and that's most important."

And when it comes to the feeling of being "completely disconnected from the world," Spaceman as a whole provides a silver lining for the days when face masks, excessive screen time and social distancing are behind us.

"So 'Spaceman' came into my mind because I was thinking, 'What's the one thing that all of us have felt during this time?' It's just completely disconnected from the world," he explained to Lowe. "We've gotten so accustomed to looking at a screen instead of human interaction, and I think the thing that keeps us all encouraged and hopeful is just the idea of knowing that there will be a tomorrow when this isn't our reality, and I think the body of work as a whole tracks that."

Spaceman will arrive on March 12 via Island Records, and fans can pre-order it here. The 11-song album is his first solo album in nearly seven years since his 2014 sophomore eponymous album, which reached No. 6 on the Billboard 200.

The "Spaceman" singer's first stop this weekend on his latest expedition will be Studio 8H in New York, where he'll be pulling double duty as the host and musical guest on Saturday Night Live. He teased, "This is gonna be fun" after the official SNL Twitter account posted a behind-the-scenes shot of him masked up during a table read.  This marks Jonas' first time hosting and second time performing on the late-night sketch comedy series. Catch him live this Saturday, Feb. 27, at 11:30 p.m. ET on NBC.

Listen to "Spaceman" and check out the track list for Spaceman below.

Courtesy Photo

Spaceman Track List: 

1. "Don’t Give Up On Us"
2. "Heights"
3. "Spaceman"
4. "2Drunk"
5. "Delicious"
6. "This Is Heaven"
7. "Sexual"
8. "Deeper Love"
9. "If I Fall"
10. "Death Do Us Part"
11. "Nervous"