Recording Academy’s Virtual ‘Women in the Mix’ Event Will Champion Female Producers & Engineers

Sheila E.
Emma McIntyre/Getty Images for The Recording Academy

Sheila E. performs onstage during the 62nd Annual GRAMMY Awards "Let's Go Crazy" The GRAMMY Salute To Prince on Jan. 28, 2020 in Los Angeles.

The event will encourage mentorship between established women in the industry and aspiring female music pros.

The Recording Academy is kicking off Grammy Week with a virtual event called "Women in the Mix” on March 8, which is also International Women’s Day.

The event is intended to recognize the contributions of female producers, engineers, artists, and executives, with a goal “to close gender gaps on and offstage.”

Ingrid Andress, Cyndi Lauper, MC Lyte and Sheila E are among those who have been confirmed for the event.

The event will spotlight female producers and engineers in the music industry while encouraging and facilitating mentorship between established women in the industry and aspiring female music professionals.

The Recording Academy has been focused on the gender gap in the recording studio for a while. This event follows follows the academy's Women In The Mix Pledge in 2019.

Grammy history bears out the need for more progress in this area. In the 47 years that the Grammys have awarded producer of the year, non-classical, female producers have been nominated in the category just eight times -- and only four of the eight have been nominated on their own, not in collaboration with male producers. Those four are Paula Cole (1997), Sheryl Crow (1998), Lauryn Hill (1998), and Linda Perry (2018). No woman has ever won in the category -- on her own or in collaboration with a male producer.

The event will be held at 5:00 p.m. PT on Panels, discussions and performances will be announced in the coming weeks.

The 63rd annual Grammy Awards are set for March 14.

Confirmed participants, in addition to a large contingent of Recording Academy-affiliated pros, include:

Ingrid Andress, Grammy-nominated singer/songwriter

Denisia "Blu June" Andrews (Nova Wav), Grammy-nominated songwriter

Brittany "Chi" Coney (Nova Wav), Grammy-nominated songwriter

Rocsi Diaz, television personality

Chloe Flower, classical pianist and composer

Cyndi Lauper, Grammy-winning singer/songwriter

EveAnna Manley, president, Manley Laboratories

MC Lyte, Grammy-nominated rapper

Piper Payne, mastering engineer

Sheila E., Grammy-nominated artist and percussionist

Ebonie Smith, music producer, engineer and singer/songwriter

Tina Tchen, president & CEO of TIME'S UP

Recording Academy staffers and trustees who are scheduled to participate include:

Harvey Mason jr., chair & interim president/CEO

Christine Albert, chair emeritus, board of trustees

Tammy Hurt, vice chair, board of trustees

Valeisha Butterfield Jones, chief diversity, equity & inclusion officer

Ruby Marchand, chief industry officer

Kelley Purcell, vice president, membership & industry relations

Maureen Droney, senior managing director, producers & engineers wing

Tera Healy, senior. director, east region

Leslie Ann Jones, Grammy-winning engineer and trustee

Recording Academy Video Spotlights Lack of Female Music Producers: Exclusive