Coronavirus

Hozier Puts His Own Spin on Britney Spears' 'Toxic' During Virtual Concert

Hozier
Matthew Thompson

Hozier

Hozier joined the lineup of superstars to participate in the Together, At Home: WHO-Global Citizen Solidarity Sessions. The crooner took to Instagram Live on Friday (March 20) to perform a number of songs, featuring peaceful background vocals from the songbirds outside his window.

Amid deliveries of Hozier's romantically apocalyptic tunes like "Nina Cried Power," "From Eden," "Take Me to Church" and "Work Song," he added in a quick cover of Britney Spears' "Toxic."

"Don't call the police if it's bad," he warned viewers. But the disclaimer wasn't necessary, as Hozier's characteristically honeyed vocals, accompanied by a soothing piano melody, allowed for a seductive twist on the pop tune.

Today's lineup of Together: At Home includes already-recorded performances from Julianne Hough, OneRepublic and Celeste. Camila Cabello and Shawn Mendes will be going live from the latter's IG page at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT, followed by Steve Aoki at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

Watch the "Toxic" cover below:

Coronavirus


THE BILLBOARD BIZ
SUBSCRIBER EXPERIENCE

The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.


To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.