Sia Racks up Record Nine Songs on The 1,000,000,000 List

Kevin Winter/Getty Images for Coachella

Sia performs onstage during day 3 of the 2016 Coachella Valley Music And Arts Festival Weekend 1 at the Empire Polo Club on April 17, 2016 in Indio, Calif. 

Sia Furler has joined the billionaire club, again.

The superstar singer and songwriter racks up a record nine songs on APRA AMCOS’ 1,000,000,000 List, making her the most prolific songwriter on the society’s new honors roll.

APRA AMCOC introduced the honor last year to recognize extraordinary success from songwriters who had accumulated over one billion streams globally for an original song.

Recipients include Nat Dunn (for Marshmello’s “Friends”), Dean Lewis (“Be Alright”), Flume (“Never Be Like You”), Jake Mason, Ivan Khatchoyan, and Lance Ferguson (for Cookin’ On 3 Burners’ “This Girl”), Starley and P-Money (“Call On Me”), Troye Sivan and Alex Hope (“Youth”), Tones And I ("Dance Monkey") and 5 Seconds of Summer (“Youngblood”).

Sia, however, has managed it with nine separate songs, including “Alive,” “Diamonds,” “Titanium” and, of course, “Cheap Thrills” which ruled the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 2016.

The honor is one of a long list of awards for Sia, which include a string of ARIA Awards and APRA Music Awards, including the APRA songwriter of the year in 2013, 2014, and 2015.

Sia was on hand at the inaugural Global APRA Music Awards, Feb. 26 at the Clive David Theater in Los Angeles, where she presented Men at Work frontman Colin Hay with the Distinguished Services Award.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.