5 Seconds of Summer Enter The 1,000,000,000 List With 'Youngblood'

5 Seconds of Summer
Andy DeLuca

5 Seconds of Summer

5 Seconds of Summer are in some rare company. All three of their albums opened at No. 1 on the Billboard 200, something no other band (not vocal group) has achieved. They’re also the only Australian group to land three leaders on the albums chart. 

Their hit “Youngblood” was the best-selling single Down Under for 2018, making the Sydneysiders the first homegrown act in 13 years to top ARIA’s year-end tally.
And now, they’ve joined APRA AMCOS’ The 1,000,000,000 List.

The four-piece clocked up one billion hits for “Youngblood,” which spent eight consecutive weeks at No. 1 on the ARIA Singles Chart and impacted the top 10 in eleven territories, including the U.S., the U.K. and Canada. 

The group -- comprised of Ashton Irwin, Calum Hood, Luke Hemmings and Michael Clifford -- this week received the honor, which is given to songwriters in recognition of more than one billion streams for a song.

“We've always taken risks and not really understood the seriousness that surrounds songs, they just explain our lives from our perspective, and we keep it close to our hearts and we keep hustling," Ashton Irwin said in a speech to APRA AMCOS staff, band management, Sony/ATV Music Publishing Australia reps and guests from EMI, the pop-punk outfit's label.

"We really respect this award and everyone who works on these songs and getting them heard," he continued.

Previous recipients include Nat Dunn (for Marshmello’s “Friends”), Dean Lewis (“Be Alright”), Flume (“Never Be Like You”), Jake Mason, Ivan Khatchoyan, and Lance Ferguson (for Cookin’ On 3 Burners’ “This Girl”), Starley and P-Money (“Call On Me”), Troye Sivan and Alex Hope (“Youth”) and Tones And I ("Dance Monkey").

5 Seconds of Summer are entering another hot patch. They performed Sunday (Feb. 16) at the all-star Fire Fight Australia concert at ANZ Stadium, before a sold-out audience of 75,000 and more than a million at home watching on TV. 

5SOS delivered a five-song set which included the live debut of “No Shame,” which will appear on their forthcoming album Calm, due out March 27.