Matt Corby's 'Rainbow Valley' Wins J Award

Matt Corby
Matt Johnson

Matt Corby

Matt Corby’s Rainbow Valley (Island) has won Triple J’s coveted J Award for Australian album of the year. 

The Newcastle-born singer and songwriter’s LP beat out recordings by G Flip, Hilltop Hoods, Northlane, Stella Donnelly and others to claim the national youth radio network’s top honor, announced Thursday during a ceremony at Sydney's Crowbar.

“While Matt Corby’s debut album Telluric wrestled with his new-found fame, on Rainbow Valley he is clearly an artist at his peak,” comments triple j’s music director Nick Findlay. “With effortless confidence and richly-textured songwriting, Matt shows his undeniable skill and vision as a musician. The finished result is nothing short of brilliance, making it a very deserving winner for the 2019 J Award.”  

Corby’s sophomore album, Rainbow Valley bowed at No. 4 on the ARIA Albums Chart in November 2018. Co-produced by Dann Hume (Amy Shark, Client Liason) and engineered by Matthew Neighbour (Avalanches, Missy Higgins), the set is nominated in three categories at next week’s ARIA Awards. 

The J Awards, typically held in the so-called Ausmusic Month of November, has previously been won by Wolfmother (2005), Hilltop Hoods (2006), The Panics (2007), The Presets (2008), Sarah Blasko (2009), Tame Impala (2010 + 2012), Gotye (2011), Flume (2013), Chet Faker (2014) and Courtney Barnett (2015), D.D. Dumbo (2016), A.B. Original and last year’s champ, Middle Kids.

The Australian album of the year was one of five prizes handed out. Hip-hop artist Sampa The Great was a double winner, taking out Double J Australian artist of the year, and her clip for “Final Form,” directed by Sanjay De Silva, was named triple j and Rage Australian music video of the year.

Also, “Dance Monkey” star Tones And I won for Unearthed artist of the year while Cloud Control’s Heidi Lenffer snagged the You Done Good Award for her work founding FEAT, a novel initiative which enables local artists to invest money into renewable, solar energy to offset their touring output. 

2019 J Award nominees:

triple j Australian Album of the Year
G Flip, About Us
Hatchie, Keepsake
Hayden James, Between Us
Hilltop Hoods, The Great Expanse
Holy Holy, My Own Pool Of Light
Matt Corby, Rainbow Valley [winner]
Northlane, Alien
Sampa the Great, The Return
Stella Donnelly, Beware Of The Dogs
Thelma Plum, Better In Blak
Double J Australian Artist of the Year
Julia Jacklin
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Nick Cave
Sampa the Great [winner]
The Teskey Brothers
Unearthed Artist of the Year
Adrian Eagle
George Alice
Spacey Jane
The Chats
Tones And I [winner]
triple j and Rage Australian Music Video of the Year
Briggs ‘Life Is Incredible’ {Ft. Greg Holden} Director: Dylan River
Flume ‘Hi This Is Flume’ (Director: Jonathan Zawada)
Sampa the Great ‘Final Form’ (Director: Sanjay De Silva) [winner]
The Chats ‘Identity Theft’ (Director: Matt Weston)
Thelma Plum ‘Better In Blak’ (Director: Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore)

You Done Good Award
Dylan Alcott
Heidi Lenffer [winner]
Harry the Poo Roadie
Sarah Aarons