FKA Twigs Announces Long-Awaited Sophomore Album 'Magdalene,' Recruits Future For 'Holy Terrain': Listen

Efren Landaos/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images  
FKA Twigs attends the 2019 MTV Video Music Video Awards held at the Prudential Center in Newark, N.J.

It’s been five years since FKA Twigs released her first album, titled the self-explanatory shorthand LP1, and now she’s ready to come forth with Magdalene on Oct. 25.

Alongside the announcement of her highly-anticipated second album, FKA Twigs has released the second single off of Magdalene later today (Sept. 9), titled “Holy Terrain” featuring Atlanta rapper Future.

Twigs' recording journey, which has taken her to London, New York and Los Angeles over the last three years, is one of self-exploration through emotional turmoil and physical pain. “I never thought heartbreak could be so all-encompassing,” she wrote in a press release. “I never thought that my body could stop working to the point that I couldn’t express myself physically in the ways that I have always loved and found so much solace.”

As always, Twigs embodies human suffering in an artistic way, like the overwhelming anxiety of an unsalvageable relationship in April's “Cellophane,” the first taste of Magdalene that was accompanied by a mesmerizing music video of the English singer pole dancing. 

But the process of making this album has allowed me for the first time, and in the most real way, to find compassion when I have been at my most ungraceful, confused and fractured,” Twigs added. “I stopped judging myself and at that moment found hope in ‘MAGDALENE.’ To her I am forever grateful.”

“Holy Terrain" is no piano ballad like its counterpart: The Future-assisted track was produced by FKA Twigs, Skrillex and Jack Antonoff. It’s the second time in the last two years FKA Twigs has collaborated with a rapper: She was featured on A$AP Rocky’s “Fukk Sleep” track from his 2018 record Testing, which she also co-directed the music video for. 

Check out Twigs' North American tour dates here, plus check out "Holy Terrain" and see the Magdalene artwork and track list below.

1. “Thousand Eyes”

2. “Home With You”

3. “Sad Day”

4. “Holy Terrain” ft. Future

5. “Mary Magdalene”

6. “Fallen Alien”

7. “Mirrored Heart”

8. “Daybed”

9. “Cellophane”


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.