Bruce Springsteen to Release 19th Studio Album 'Western Stars' on June 14

Bruce Springsteen
Danny Clinch

Bruce Springsteen

The first song, “Hello Sunshine,” will be released with a music video tonight.

Bruce Springsteen’s first new studio album in more than five years will be released on June 14 by Columbia Records, Billboard can exclusively report.

Titled Western Stars, the album -- Springsteen’s 19th overall -- draws inspiration from the Southern California pop records of the late ‘60s and early ‘70s. It was primarily recorded at Springsteen’s home studio in New Jersey, with additional recording in California and New York.

“This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements," said Springsteen in a statement. "It's a jewel box of a record.”

Western Stars’ 13 tracks -- all written by Springsteen -- are described as “encompass[ing] a sweeping range of American themes, of highways and desert spaces, of isolation and community and the permanence of home and hope.”

The album was co-produced by Springsteen with Ron Aniello, who also produced the artist's last two studio albums, 2012’s Wrecking Ball and 2014’s High HopesPatti Scialfa, a long-time member of Springsteen's E Street Band who has been married to Springsteen since 1991, provided vocals and contributed vocal arrangements on four tracks.

Musical arrangements on Western Stars include strings, horns and pedal steel along with contributions by more than 20 other players including Jon Brion, who played celeste, Moog and farfisa. Guest appearances include founding E Street Band keyboardist David Sancious as well as sometime E Street Band players Charlie Giordano and Soozie Tyrell. The album was mixed by 13-time Grammy winner Tom Elmhirst.

The first song from Western Stars, “Hello Sunshine,” will be released alongside an accompanying music video just after midnight EST Friday morning. 

Check out the full track list from Western Stars below.

1. Hitch Hikin’
2. The Wayfarer
3. Tucson Train
4. Western Stars
5. Sleepy Joe’s Café?
6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
8. Sundown
9. Somewhere North of Nashville
10. Stones
11. There Goes My Miracle
12. Hello Sunshine
13. Moonlight Motel

Springsteen's recording career has spanned over 40 years, beginning with his 1973 album Greetings from Asbury Park, NJ. He was won 20 Grammys, one Oscar, one Tony and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1999. His critically-acclaimed Broadway show Springsteen on Broadway, which also spawned a soundtrack album and a Netflix special, concluded its historic run in December 2018 after grossing more than $113 million over the course of 236 shows.