Congress Announces Recording Arts and Sciences Caucus Members

Doug Armand/Getty Images


Members for the new Congress' Recording Arts and Sciences Caucus were announced on Thursday (March 14), including chairs House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-Md.) and House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.). 

The bi-partisan caucus was established in 2005 and works with members of the music industry to understand sector economic and cultural impact on legislation. 

The caucus for the 116th Congress includes Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.), Julia Brownley (D-Calif.), Ken Buck (R-Colo.), Tony Cárdenas (D-Calif.), Judy Chu (D-Calif.), Doug Collins (R-Ga.), Lou Correa (D-Calif.), Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Steny Hoyer (D-Md.), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Texas), Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.), Michael McCaul (R-Texas), Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.), Martha Roby (R-Ala.), Linda Sánchez (D-Calif.) and Adam Schiff (D-Calif.). 

"The 116th Congress began on a strong tailwind for music policy issues, and the robust, bipartisan membership of this caucus demonstrates a continued focus on music policy," said Daryl P. Friedman, chief industry, government, & member relations officer for the Recording Academy, in a statement. "Recording Academy members look forward to working with the entire caucus to ensure that creators? voices continue to be heard on issues that affect them as well as the next generation of music creators."

Last year, music advocates in Congress helped push the monumental Music Modernization Act into law. Over the past 14 years, caucus members have met with artists including Band Perry, Kelly Clarkson, Brenda Lee and Slash, along with other singers, songwriters, producers and engineers to discuss how current laws impact their work and music's role in policy decision-making. 


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.