Songwriters Hall of Fame to Honor Carole Bayer Sager With Prestigious Johnny Mercer Award

Carole Bayer Sager
Gregg DeGuire/WireImage

Carole Bayer Sager arrives at the 2016 LACMA Art + Film Gala Honoring Robert Irwin And Kathryn Bigelow Presented By Gucci at LACMA on Oct. 29, 2016 in Los Angeles. 

The Songwriters Hall of Fame will honor Carole Bayer Sager with Johnny Mercer Award at 2019's 50th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner on June 13 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

The award is the highest honor bestowed by the Songwriters Hall of Fame, given only to songwriters and songwriter teams who have already been previously inducted. Bayer Sager was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 1987 for her lyric writing on songs including "Nobody Does It Better," "Don't Cry Out Loud" and the Oscar-winning theme from the movie Arthur, "The Best That You Can Do." 

Since writing her first pop hit, "A Groovy Kind of Love," with Toni Wine while still a high school student in the 1960s, Bayer Sager has collaborated and written for Ray Charles, Celine Dion, Bob Dylan, Neil Diamond, Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, Carole King, Dolly Parton, Carly Simon, Frank Sinatra, Barbra Streisand and many others. 

"If you are going to be the honored recipient of the Johnny Mercer Award you better be one of the greatest lyricists of all time," said Nile Rodgers, Songwriters Hall of Fame chairman, in a statement. "From 'Arthur's Theme (Best That You Can Do)' to 'When I Need You' and 'Heartbreaker' to 'That's What Friends Are For,' 'Groovy Kind Of Love,' 'Nobody Does It Better' and so many more, the incomparable Carole Bayer Sager has been a powerful female voice that has made the world a gentler and more beautiful place."

Bayer Sager will be joined at the event by this year's inductees, Dallas Austin, Missy Elliott, Tom T. Hall, John Prine, Jack Tempchin and Yusuf/Cat Stevens. As well, legendary music publisher Martin Bandier will receive the visionary leadership award, with more honorees to be announced.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.