Icelandic Artist Júníus Meyvant Signs With Glassnote Records, Shares 'Let It Pass': Exclusive

Junius Meyvant
Sigga Ella

Junius Meyvant

Icelandic artist Júníus Meyvant has signed with Glassnote Records for North and South America, Australia, New Zealand and Japan. 

Glassnote will release Across The Borders on Jan. 25, while indie label Record Records, who signed Meyvant ahead of his 2016 debut, will release the album on the same day throughout the rest of the world.  

"When we first heard Júníus Meyvant's music, the beauty of his orchestration transported me to a fjord in Iceland,” said Daniel Glass, Glassnote founder, in a statement. “It was clear he has the unique skill for creating sophisticated and cinematic arrangements as well as hit records. We are thrilled to welcome Júníus to the Glassnote family.”

“First and foremost I really like the people at Glassnote,” said Meyvant. “The staff and Daniel Glass welcomed me with open arms. It felt like I had known them for a long time. I think their history and the roster of Glassnote is impressive. It is my belief I found a label to harness my creativity.”

Additionally, Meyvant has signed with WME’s Michael Coughlin and Buster Phillips for booking in the U.S., while United Talent Agency’s Oliver Ward will handle the rest of the world.

The new album follows high-profile best single and newcomer of the year wins at Icelandic Music Awards. Meyvant will play a homecoming set Nov. 10 at Iceland Airwaves in Reykjavík, marking his first appearance at the festival since 2015.

“Let It Pass,” the first track from Across The Borders, came to Meyvant in a dream. Listen to it here:

"My wife woke me up because I was beatboxing in my sleep,” Meyvant says in a statement. “In the dream my good friend, Andri, who helped me a lot in the making of my albums, was running around this chair with his forehead stuck to the chairs back screaming Record this! It’s a hit!’ In the background was this song and the chorus was going ‘Let It Pass, Let It Pass’.”

The richly orchestrated Across the Borders was self-produced and written by Meyvant, with engineering and mixing performed by Guðmundur Kristinn Jónsson (Ásgeir, Erlend Oye, Hjálmar) at Hljóðriti Studio on the outskirts of Reykjavik.

Across the Borders  track listing

Lay Your Head
Love Child
High Alert
Across The Borders
Let It Pass
New Waves
Carry On With Me
Punch Through The Night
Draw The Line
Until The Last Minute