AIM Independent Music Awards Winners: Jorja Smith, SOPHIE, Ninja Tune & More

Jorja Smith AIM awards
Callum Baker

Jorja Smith, winner of UK Breakthrough of the Year, at the 2018 AIM Awards. 

The 2018 AIM Independent Music Awards took place on Tuesday night (Sep. 4) at The Brewery in London to celebrate outstanding independent musical achievement. 

The biggest award of the night went to Nadine Shah, who took home the Independent Album of the Year award for her critically acclaimed third studio album, Holiday Destination. During her acceptance speech, she touched on the political themes that run through her music by condemning the rise of nationalism in the UK and thanking her label for encouraging her to "be louder, to say more." In celebration, the singer also took to the stage to perform.

Jorja Smith won the award for UK Breakthrough of the Year. Her debut album Lost and Found not only made the 21-year-old songstress a force to be reckoned with in the UK, but earned the singer critical acclaim in the Unites States as well.

SOPHIE was also a winner during the ceremony and earned the Innovator Award for her recent experimental album release, Oil of Every Pearl's Un-Insides. "Independent minded artists and thinkers are innovators by nature and I'm honored to accept this award," she said in her speech. "I believe that if artists had more power and control, we would see an industry that is more progressive, provocative, and exciting for everyone."

Ninja Tune, the iconic indie label whose roster includes ABRA, Run the Jewels, ODESZA and more, took home the esteemed Independent Label of the Year, a step up for the boutique label after taking home the Innovator Award back in 2015. Best Small Label went to Black Acre Records, home to Connie Constance and Clap! Clap!

See the full list of winners below:

Independent Album of the Year (in association with Ingrooves)

Nadine Shah - Holiday Destination (1965 Records/[PIAS])

Independent Track of the Year (in association with Spotify)

Peggy Gou - "It Makes You Forget" (Itgehane) (Ninja Tune)

Best Sophomore Release (in association with Radio X)

Let's Eat Grandma - I'm All Ears (Transgressive)

UK Breakthrough of the Year (in association with YouTube)

Jorja Smith (FAMM)

International Breakthrough of the Year (in association with Deezer)

Phoebe Bridgers (Dead Oceans)

Best Live Act (in association with Songkick)

Erasure (Mute Records)

Hardest Working Group or Artist

IDLES (Partisan Records)

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin)

Tracey Thorn

Pioneer Award


Innovator Award (in association with Fuga)


Best Creative Packaging (in association with MCPS)

Black Sabbath - The Ten Year War (BMG)

Independent Label of the Year (in association with Believe}

Ninja Tune

Best Small Label (in association with Awesome Merchandise)

Black Acre Records

Indie Champion Award (in association with [PIAS])

Femi Adeyemi - Founder of NTS Radio

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act

Dave (Dave)

Independent Video of the Year (in association with Vevo)

Novo Amor - "Birthplace (AllPoints)" / Directed by Sil van der Woerd & Jorik Dozy