Parkland High School Students Hitting the Road for Voter Registration & Gun Control Tour

Ellis Rua/Miami Herald/TNS via Getty Images
Parkland shooting survivors hold a press conference for the March for Our Lives movement on June 4, 2018 at the Pines Trails Park in Parkland, Fla. 

For the student survivors of the Parkland massacre, the massive March for Our Lives was just the beginning of their push for a change to the nation's gun laws. On Monday morning (June 4), a group of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School leaders announced that they are hitting the road beginning in Chicago on June 15 for a two-month summer tour on which they will stage voter registration drives and call for more action on gun control in 50 cities across 20 states over 60 days on the "March for Our Lives: Road to Change" tour.

According to CNN, one of the most visible student leaders, Cameron Kasky, described the tour while backed by two dozen classmates wearing "Road to Change" T-shirts. He said the group will be focused on cities where the National Rifle Association has the strongest hold on politicians, in addition to hitting towns that have been the victims of gun violence.

"We can fix the political system," said Kasky, who just finished his junior year at Stoneman Douglas. He was joined at the event by another prominent Parkland student, Emma Gonzalez, also a strong voice among the survivors of a mass shooting by their fellow student that left 17 people dead on Feb. 14. "We do not have to surrender to dirty, awful politics." Recent graduate David Hogg added, "These issues cannot take a breath, because every single day there's another American child that is dying as a result of policies not being enacted by these politicians who are unfairly elected because not everybody is getting out to vote, and that's our mission here."

The kick-off announcement came a day after 788 students graduated from Stoneman Douglas, with four diplomas awarded posthumously to students slain in the mass shooting. The group will also hit all 27 of Florida's congressional districts.