Chris Stapleton Talks Covering Elton John for 'Restoration': Exclusive Amazon Music Preview

Chris Stapleton
Rich Fury/Getty Images for iHeartMedia

Chris Stapleton performs onstage during the 2017 iHeartRadio Music Festival at T-Mobile Arena on Sept. 22, 2017 in Las Vegas.  

One of the highlights on Restoration, the country tribute to Elton John and Bernie Taupin, coming out April 6, is Chris Stapleton’s version of “I Want Love.” 

It turns out John called Stapleton personally to ask him to record the longing ballad, from 2001's Songs From The West Coast. And, as one can imagine, it can be quite shocking when the superstar calls, as Stapleton recounts in this exclusive preview of an interview with Stapleton for The Soundboard with Elton John, an inside look at the making of Restoration and its pop companion, Revamp. Soundboard begins airing April 6 on Amazon Music.

“I got a phone call from Elton John, which was one of the strangest phone calls you’re gonna get if you ever get that phone call. Not strange, wonderfully strange. In the last few years of surreal moments, that was a surreal one for sure,” Stapleton says. “He wanted us to do this particular song… what are you going to say if Elton John calls you up and asks you do to something like other than ‘Yes, absolutely,’ and ‘I’ll do my best, Sir Elton.” 

Stapleton goes on to talk about how challenging it is to recreate a John classic. Plus, toward the end, listen for snippets of Stapleton’s version of “I Want Love.”

For the Amazon audio program, John and his longtime lyricist tell the stories behind the songs and their 50-year partnership. Plus, participating artists, including Stapleton, Demi Lovato, Q-Tip and the Killers’ Brandon Flowers share their experiences on making the album. 

“When an artist loves a song enough to cover it, well, that’s the ultimate compliment,” John says of the albums. “As songwriters, Bernie and myself are thrilled when people we admire and respect as much as those on Revamp and Restoration choose to add their own unique twist -- it means our songs continue to resonate and reach new audiences. It’s been wonderful working with Amazon Music to bring our stories behind the new songs to life and I hope fans will enjoy listening to The Soundboard as much as we did recording it.”

Available to Amazon customers in the U.K., U.S., Germany and Austria, the multi-hour collection of interviews and music will be broadcast globally for a limited time beginning April 6 by visiting

Check out the track list for each album below.


1. "Bennie and The Jets" - Elton John, P!nk, Logic

2. "We All Fall In Love Sometimes" - Coldplay

3. "I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues" - Alessia Cara

4. "Candle In The Wind" - Ed Sheeran

5. "Tiny Dancer" - Florence + The Machine

6. "Someone Saved My Life Tonight" - Mumford & Sons

7. "Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word" - Mary J. Blige

8. "Don’t Go Breaking My Heart" - Q Tip feat. Demi Lovato

9. "Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters" - The Killers

10. "Daniel" - Sam Smith

11. "Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me" - Miley Cyrus

12. "Your Song" - Lady Gaga

13. "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road" - Queens of the Stone Age


1. "Rocket Man" – Little Big Town

2. "Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters" – Maren Morris

3. "Sacrifice" – Don Henley and Vince Gill

4. "Take Me To The Pilot" – Brothers Osborne

5. "My Father’s Gun" – Miranda Lambert

6. "I Want Love" – Chris Stapleton

7. "Honky Cat" – Lee Ann Womack

8. "Roy Rogers" – Kacey Musgraves

9. "Please" – Rhonda Vincent and Dolly Parton

10. "The Bitch Is Back" – Miley Cyrus

11. "Sad Songs (Say So Much)" – Dierks Bentley

12. "This Train Don’t Stop" – Rosanne Cash and Emmylou Harris

13. "Border Song" – Willie Nelson