Quincy Jones, Common and More to Honor Former AMPAS President Cheryl Boone Isaacs

Jason LaVeris/FilmMagic

Common attends the 2017 Creative Arts Emmy Awards at Microsoft Theater on Sept. 9, 2017 in Los Angeles. 

Quincy Jones, Common, Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith, and Raphael Saadiq will be among stars paying tribute to Cheryl Boone Isaacs, former president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).

Isaacs will be presented with the inaugural Legacy Award at ICON MANN’s sixth annual pre-Oscar dinner. The invite-only dinner is set for Feb. 27 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel.

Jones, the dinner’s host committee chairman, will present the award to Isaacs in recognition of her achievements in improving diversity and inclusion at the Academy. Oscar winners Common and Halle Berry will pair for a special scholarship presentation.

Master of ceremonies Cedric the Entertainer will welcome guests such as Saadiq (a current Oscar nominee for best song --“Mighty River”-- from Mudbound along with co-writers Mary J. Blige and Taura Stinson), actors David Oyelowo, Terrence Howard and directors Lee Daniels, Reginald Hudlin, John Singleton and Dee Rees (a first-time Oscar nominee for Mudbound). Common and co-writer Diane Warren are also up for best song for “Stand Up for Something” from Marshall. Rickey Minor (American Idol) will serve as musical director.

ICON MANN is a lifestyle media platform dedicated to honoring the achievements of cross-industry influencers of color, encompassing entertainment, technology, the arts, politics, finance and education. It was founded by Tamara Houston.