BTS Is the Most Tweeted-About Artist of 2017, Plus More Twitter Year-End Data

2017 was the year of K-pop -- not only on Billboard’s charts, but also on Twitter.

In the social media app’s Year On Twitter 2017, released Tuesday (Dec. 5), BTS are the most tweeted-about musicians in the U.S. They're also the most tweeted-about celebrities across the globe, followed immediately by fellow K-pop group SEVENTEEN. Boy band MONSTA X also made the top 10.

BTS, with 10.8 million followers, broke records just this month with the highest-charting entry into the Billboard Hot 100 for a K-pop group, with “MIC Drop” debuting at No. 28.

Another Korean sensation in the Twittersphere are EXO, claiming the most-tweeted song hashtag for their single “Ko Ko Bop.” They’re also the most-followed celebrity that joined in 2017, garnering 1.65 million followers since signing on in June.

Some other non-Korean favorites on Twitter include Fifth Harmony, Harry Styles and Justin Bieber.

See below for the Twitter Year In Music recap, including the most devoted fan army, the most retweeted statuses, the most buzzed-about broadcasts and the stars fans just couldn’t stop chatting about in 2017.

Top 10 most tweeted-about music artists in the U.S.
1. BTS (@BTS_twt)
2. Nicki Minaj (@NICKIMINAJ)
3. Harry Styles (@Harry_Styles)
4. Chance the Rapper (@chancetherapper)
5. Niall Horan (@NiallOfficial)
6. Fifth Harmony (@FifthHarmony)
7. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber)
8. Shawn Mendes (@ShawnMendes)
9. Rihanna (@rihanna)
10. Ariana Grande (@ArianaGrande)

Top 10 most buzzed-about celebrities around the world
1. BTS (@BTS_twt)
2. SEVENTEEN (@pledis_17)
3. Camila Cabello (@Camila_Cabello)
4. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber)
5. Maine Mendoza (@mainedcm)
6. Niall Horan (@NiallOfficial)
7. Harry Styles (@Harry_Styles)
8. Ethan Dolan (@EthanDolan)
9. Monsta X (@OfficialMonstaX)
10. Grayson Dolan (@GraysonDolan)

Televised events the Twittersphere kept tweeting about
1. Miss Universe 
2. 2017 Billboard Music Awards
3. Super Bowl 51

Songs with the most # mentions
1. Ko Ko Bop - EXO (#kokobop)
2. Hey Ma - Pitbull & J Balvin feat. Camila Cabello (#heyma)
3. You Are - GOT7 (#youare)
4. Work From Home - Fifth Harmony (#workfromhome)
5. Reggaeton Lento - CNCO (#reggaetonlento)
6. Hey DJ - CNCO & Yandel (#heydj)
7. Love Yourself - Justin Bieber (#love_yourself)
8. Never Ever - GOT7 (#neverever)
9. Exs and Ohs - Elle King (#exsandohs)
10. PILLOWTALK - Zayn (#pillowtalk)

The biggest fan armies on Twitter
1. #lovatics
2. #littlemonsters
3. #harmonizers
4. #beliebers
5. #5sosfam

The most popular celebrities who joined in 2017
1. EXO (@weareoneEXO)
2. Wanna One (@WannaOne_twt)
3. LaVar Ball (@Lavarbigballer)
4. Chris Hughes (@chrishughes_22)
5. Ryan Tedder (@RyanTedder)
6. Morrissey (@officialmoz)
7. Rachel Lindsay (@TheRachLindsay)
8. Hilarie Burton (@HilarieBurton)
9. Asahd Khaled (@asahdkhaled)

The 10 most retweeted tweets

Billboard Year in Music 2017

THE BILLBOARD BIZ
SUBSCRIBER EXPERIENCE

The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.


To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.