Billboard Bits: 'Nuggets,' Quango, Stereomud

News on Nuggets, Quango, Stereomud

Rhino Records will release a follow-up to its popular "Nuggets" boxed set on June 19. The four-CD set, entitled "Nuggets II: Original Artyfacts From The British Empire And Beyond, 1964-1969," will collect 109 garage rock tunes from the same period as the first, but focus only on international groups.

The Creation, the Pretty Things, the Move, Them, the Troggs, Fire, the Smoke, Small Faces, and the Eyes are just a few of the bands on the set. Acts from such countries as England, Ireland, Mexico, Japan, Ireland, Brazil and New Zealand, among many others, will be represented.

Like the first edition, many of the tracks will be rare, and some have never before been released in America. "Nuggets II" will also include a 100-page booklet loaded with detailed track-by-track information, as well as essays by Bomp editor Greg Shaw and Ugly Things editor Mike Stax.

-- Todd Martens, L.A.

Los Angeles-based electronic music label Quango Music Group has entered into a joint venture with New York-based Palm Pictures. Palm, home to such acts as Dieselboy and Supreme Beings Of Leisure, will release six Quango compilations this year. A spokesperson for Quango says non-compilation albums are planned for the future, but not for the spring relaunch of the label. Quango previously had a distribution deal with Island Records, which expired in 1997. Here are the six Qaungo/Palm compilations planned and some of the artists included: "Quango Cosmic Funk": the Funky Lowlives, Neon Phusion, and New Sector Movements. "Quango Mystic Groove": dZiham & Kamien, Nitin Sawhney, Najma, and Stoppa & Nobby. "Quango Brazilified": Jazzanova, Mr. Gone, and Da Lata. "Quango Space Jazz": Tosca, Akasha, and Love TKO. "Quango Dub Sector": Groove Corp., Seven Dub, and Keiser Volten. "Quango Lush Life Electronica": John Beltram, Move D, and Soul Circuit.

Two months in advance of the release of its debut album, Stereomud, an all-star aggro-rock collective of sorts, have taken to the road. Currently on tour with Nonpoint and From Zero through the end of the month, the band will hook up with Crazy Town's pre-Ozzfest tour in mid-April. Stereomud's album, "Perfect Self," is due May 15 from Loud/Columbia. Stereomud -- bassist Corey Lowery (Stuck Mojo), drummer Dan Richardson (Crumbsuckers, Pro-Pain), guitarist Joey Z. (Life Of Agony), guitarist John Fattoruso (Crumbsuckers, Pro-pain), and regarded Atlanta-based vocalist Eric Sebren -- recorded the album with three producers in three cities. Don Gilmore (Lit, Linkin Park) handled chores in Los Angeles, while Rick Parashar (Alice In Chains, Blind Melon) produced sessions in Seattle, and Howie Beno (Ministry, Red Hot Chili Peppers) tackled production in New York. Stretching the collective slightly farther, Lowery's brother Clint (Sevendust) collaborated on one of the album's songs, "Perfect Self."