Sharon Jones' Posthumous Album 'Soul of a Woman' to Be Released in November

Sharon Jones And The Dap Kings perform in 2014
Timothy Hiatt/WireImage

Sharon Jones And The Dap Kings perform during the 2014 Forecastle Music Festival at Louisville Waterfront Park on July 19, 2014 in Louisville, K.Y.

Soul legend Sharon Jones passed away late last year and on November 17, her final posthumous album, Soul of a Woman, comes out on Daptone Records. This album was recorded while the singer was struggling with pancreatic cancer, with Jones fighting through with all her energy to make one last record. 

In an interview with Rolling Stone, Daptone Records co-founder Gabriel Roth said, “To my frustration, but to her credit, she wouldn't come into the studio until she was really feeling it. She couldn't phone it in. Every time that she was counted out, she came back fighting." He also mentions that side one of the album is “the more raw live side,”  while side two is “more moody and orchestrated.” 

Today (Oct. 10), a video for opening track “Matter of Time” off the album was shared as well. It features clips from some of Jones’ final performances, showing happier times with backstage antics -- a perfect way to remember the late icon. 

Watch it below.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Soul of a Woman Tracklist:

1. "Matter of Time"

2. "Sail On!"

3. "Just Give Me Your Time"

4. "Come and Be a Winner"

5. "Rumors"

6. "Pass Me By"

7. "Searching for a New Day"

8. "These Tears (No Longer for You)"

9. "When I Saw Your Face"

10. "Girl! (You Got to Forgive Him)"

11. "Call on God"


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.