Rapper Leaf Announces 'Trinity' Release Date & Drops Empowered Lead Track 'Gimme Some': Premiere

Chris Paul Thompson 


"Gimme Some," the latest track from rising Brooklyn rapper Leaf premiering today (July 17) on Billboard, is bound to leave listeners asking for more. Thankfully, the sultry, empowered new vibe also comes with an announcement from the 22-year-old rhymer: Her anticipated debut LP Trinity will drop August 18.

Signed to Fool's Gold/RPM MSC after being discovered on Instagram by label boss A-Trak, the artist born Mikala Leaf McLean unleashed her debut EP Magnet Bitch in 2015. Since, she's gained a reputation for fierce female empowerment anthems like the Lil Yachty-featuring "Nada" and girl gang tribute "Plate" -- not to mention scoring modeling deals at Calvin Klein and Forever 21, which launches a national campaign with the artist today.

As the leading track off Trinity, the breathy, brooding new single "Gimme Some" only adds to Leaf's stellar resume, melding a smoldering, R&B-tinged vibe with the artist's honey-smooth vocals honed at legendary NYC performing arts school LaGuardia. And it falls right in line with Leaf's overall motto "MBM," the title of her clothing label and creative collective which stands for both "Magnetic Bitch Movement" and "Money Before Men."

"For me, 'Gimme Some' is another sexual liberation song for women," Leaf tells Billboard. "We all talk about what we like in bed with our friends; I just wanted to add to the conversation."

Sparking conversation on women's issues is an aim that runs throughout the 13 total tracks on Trinity. Female entrepreneurship is another major push -- the album includes work-hard-play-hard anthem "Weekend" and the hater-blasting "I Don't Like You," closing out with a TroyBoi remix of her motivating "Money." And Leaf has an impressive team on board for the project, which taps producers Sonny Digital (Future), Soundz (Jeremih, Rae Sremmurd) and BHarv (Justin Bieber) along with TrehyHarris (Michael Jackson, Rihanna), who mixes the LP.

"[The album has] a lot of empowerment songs -- songs to cope with emotions that I feel like a lot of girls have," Leaf explained to Billboard last year. "Secondly, it’s a turn-up....songs to turn up with your girlfriends to feel fly. Three, Trinity is about embodying female empowerment, being the queen that you are."

Tune in to “Gimme Some” below for a preview of what's to come August 18, and take a look at the full Trinity track listing and album art.

1. Gimme Some 
2. Woo 
3. Gone
4. FWM (Lie To Me) 
5. 0033300 (Interlude)
6. Call Me
7. Nada (feat. Lil Yachty)
8. Plate
9. I Don’t Like You
10. 1133311 (Interlude)
11. Weekend
12. Coming Down
13. Money (TroyBoi Remix)