Sara Evans Leads CMA Awards Nominees

With nominations in five categories, RCA artist Sara Evans leads the contenders for the 35th annual Country Music Association (CMA) Awards. Other multiple nominees include Brooks & Dunn and Alan J

With nominations in five categories, RCA artist Sara Evans leads the contenders for the 35th annual Country Music Association (CMA) Awards. Other multiple nominees include Brooks & Dunn and Alan Jackson with four, and Tim McGraw and Brad Paisley with three each.

Evans pulled down a nod in the female vocalist category, and one for album of the year for "Born to Fly," as well as single, song, and music video for the set's title track. Additionally, as she co-produced the album and title track with Paul Worley, Evans could potentially walk away with seven CMA trophies.

The popular Mercury soundtrack to the Coen Brothers film "O Brother Where Art Thou?" spawned four nominations, including album of the year. The other "O Brother" nominations are single of the year for the Soggy Bottom Boys' "I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow," and two vocal event nods for "Didn't Leave Nobody But the Baby" featuring Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss, and Gillian Welch, and "I'll Fly Away" with Krauss and Welch. The set, which is in its 18th non-consecutive week at No. 1 on Billboard's Top Country Albums chart, has sold 1.9 million copies in the U.S. to date, according to SoundScan.

Brooks & Dunn, McGraw, and Jackson will compete in two categories, for album of the year and the coveted entertainer of the year honor, for which they face competition from the Dixie Chicks and George Strait. Winners are determined by the nearly 6,000 CMA members.

The 35th Annual CMA Awards will take place Nov. 7 at Nashville's Grand Ole Opry house, and will be broadcast live on CBS in the U.S., as well as internationally, including via the BBC in the U.K. Noted country entertainer Vince Gill will host the affair for the 10th consecutive year.

For more information on the event, visit the official CMA Awards Web site.

Here is the full list of 2001 CMA Awards nominees:

Entertainer of the year:
Brooks & Dunn
Dixie Chicks
Alan Jackson
Tim McGraw
George Strait

Male vocalist of the year:
Alan Jackson
Toby Keith
Tim McGraw
Brad Paisley
George Strait

Female vocalist of the year:
Sara Evans
Faith Hill
Martina McBride
Lee Ann Womack
Trisha Yearwood

Horizon Award:
Jessica Andrews
Nickel Creek
Jamie O'Neal
Keith Urban
Phil Vassar

Vocal group of the year:
Diamond Rio
Dixie Chicks
Nickel Creek

Vocal duo of the year:
Bellamy Brothers
Brooks & Dunn
Montgomery Gentry
The Kinleys
The Warren Brothers

Single of the year:
"Ain't Nothing 'Bout You" - Brooks & Dunn (Kix Brooks/Ronnie Dunn/Mark Wright, producers)
"Born to Fly" - Sara Evans (Paul Worley/Sara Evans, producers)
"I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow" - The Soggy Bottom Boys (T Bone Burnett, producer)
"I'm Already There" - Lonestar (Dann Huff, producer)
"One More Day" - Diamond Rio (Michael D. Clute/Diamond Rio, producers)

Album of the year:
"Born to Fly" - Sara Evans (Sara Evans/Paul Worley, producers)
"O Brother, Where Art Thou?" - Various artists (T Bone Burnett, producer)
"Set This Circus Down" - Tim McGraw (Byron Gallimore/James Stroud/Tim McGraw, producers)
"Steers & Stripes" - Brooks & Dunn (Kix Brooks/Ronnie Dunn/Mark Wright, producers)
"When Somebody Loves You" - Alan Jackson (Keith Stegall, producer)

Song of the year:
"Born to Fly" (Sara Evans/Marcus Hummon/Darryl Scott, writers; Sony/ATV Songs/Careers-BMG Music/Floyd's Dream Music/Chuck Wagon Gourmet Music/Famous Music, publishers)
"How Do You Like Me Now?!" (Chuck Cannon/Toby Keith, writers; Wacissa River Music/Tokeco Tunes, publishers)
"I'm Already There" (Richie McDonald/Gary Baker/Frank Myers, writers; Sony/ATV Songs/Zomba Enterprises/Swear By It Music/Josh Nick Music, publishers)
"Murder On Music Row" (Larry Cordle/Larry Shell, writers; Pier Five Music/Wandachord Music/Shell Point, publishers)
"One More Day" (Steven Dale Jones/Bobby Tomberlin, writers; EMI April Music/Sound Island Pub./Mike Curb Music, publishers)

Vocal event of the year
"Alright, I'm Wrong" - Dwight Yoakam (duet with Buck Owens)
"Didn't Leave Nobody But the Baby" - Emmylou Harris/Alison Krauss/Gillian Welch
"Hard to Be a Husband, Hard to Be a Wife" - Brad Paisley/Chely Wright
"I'll Fly Away" - Alison Krauss/Gillian Welch
"Too Country" - Brad Paisley with featured vocals by George Jones/Bill Anderson/Buck Owens

Musician of the year:
Stuart Duncan
Paul Franklin
John Hobbs
Dann Huff
Brent Mason

Music video of the year:
"Ashes By Now" - Lee Ann Womack (Gregg Horne, director)
"Born to Fly" - Sara Evans (Peter Zavadil, director)
"I Would've Loved You Anyway" - Trisha Yearwood (Chris Rogers, director)
"There Is No Arizona" - Jamie O'Neal (Lawrence Carroll, director)
"www.memory" - Alan Jackson (Morgan Lawley, director)