Vincent Cleans Up At Bluegrass Awards

Rhonda Vincent claimed a chunk of what was supposed to be the year of "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" for herself last night (Oct. 4), winning three awards including entertainer of the year at the annual

Rhonda Vincent claimed a chunk of what was supposed to be the year of "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" for herself last night (Oct. 4), winning three awards including entertainer of the year at the annual International Bluegrass Music Association Awards. Vincent also won best female vocalist and shared the best recorded event honor for her contribution to the album "Follow Me Back to the Fold: A Tribute to Women in Bluegrass."

"I was just thinking how very sweet this is," Vincent said. "Every day that we walk on stage ... we feel very lucky to live our dream. And this is the icing on the cake." Vincent's win for best entertainer ended a four-year streak by The Del McCoury Band.

"O Brother" -- the film soundtrack that has sold more than 3 million copies, spent 21 non-consecutive weeks on top of Billboard's Top Country Albums chart, and revealed that American roots music can still touch a deep nerve in its home country -- was named best album. Two songs from the collection also won awards: "I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow" for best song and "I'll Fly Away" for best gospel recording.

Dan Tyminski, a member of Alison Krauss' band who provided the singing voice for actor George Clooney on "I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow," picked up four awards. One was for best male vocalist, two were related to his work on "O Brother," and the last was for his contribution to the best instrumental album, "Knee Deep in Bluegrass: The Acutab Sessions." "There's a lot of people I should thank," he said. "I suppose I should start with George Clooney."

Ethan and Joel Coen, who produced and directed the "O Brother" film, were given a distinguished achievement award along with T. Bone Burnett, producer of the album.

Singer Steve Wariner was the host of the show at the Kentucky Center for the Arts in Louisville. Ricky Skaggs, Nickel Creek, Sam Bush, and Alison Brown were among the performers. Sonny Osborne opened the show with a solo banjo version of "America the Beautiful" to acknowledge the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks. Tyminski performed "I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow."

In other major awards, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver were named best vocal group, and young trio Nickel Creek won for best instrumental group. The latter band's Chris Thile was named best mandolin player.

A stunned Thile thanked several other mandolin players, then acknowledged Bill Monroe, the late entertainer credited with inventing the bluegrass genre. "All those people were of course very influenced by Bill Monroe, and I can't thank them enough for bringing it to me."

Seminal country music trio the Carter Family -- A.P., Sara, and Maybelle -- were inducted into the Hall of Honor, the genre's hall of fame. "I think all over the world, my parents have influenced people to make music," said Janette Carter, the daughter of A.P. and Sara. "Everybody has an idol... Mine was my daddy."

The IBMA's 2,600 members nominate and vote for the winners of the awards. The show will be syndicated to more than 300 radio stations in the U.S., and on 14 foreign networks.

Here is the full list of 2001 IBMA Awards winners:

Entertainer: Rhonda Vincent & the Rage
Vocal group: Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Instrumental group: Nickel Creek
Male vocalist: Dan Tyminski
Female vocalist: Rhonda Vincent
Emerging artist: The Karl Shiflett & Big Country Show
Song: "I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow" by the Soggy Bottom Boys featuring Dan Tyminski, songwriter Dick Burnett, arranged by Carter Stanley
Album: "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" soundtrack by Norman Blake, James Carter & the Prisoners, the Cox Family, Fairfield Four, Emmylou Harris, John Hartford, Chris Thomas King, Alison Krauss, Harry McClintock, The Peasall Sisters, the Soggy Bottom Boys, Ralph Stanley, the Stanley Brothers, Gillian Welch, and the Whites
Gospel recorded performance: "I'll Fly Away" by Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch from the "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" soundtrack
Instrumental album: "Knee Deep in Bluegrass: The AcuTab Sessions" by Barry Bales, Butch Baldassari, Terry Baucom, Wayne Benson, Alan Bibey, Ronnie Bowman, Rob Ickes, Jason Moore, Joe Mullins, Alan Munde, Mark Newton, Alan O'Bryant, Sammy Shelor, Kenny Smith, Tim Staffird, Adam Steffey, Ron Stewart, Tony Trischka, Dan Tyminski, Scott Vestal, and Pete Wernick
Recorded event: "Follow Me Back to the Fold: A Tribute to Women in Bluegrass" by Mark Newton, Gloria Belle, Dale Ann Bradley, Louisa Branscomb, Gena Britt, Kathy Chiavola, Kim & Barb Fox, Sally Jones, Laurie Lewis, Claire Lynch, Lynn Morris, Missy Raines, Kristin Scott, Valerie Smith, Rhonda Vincent, Sharon White, and Cheryl White
Banjo musician: Jim Mills
Dobro musician: Jerry Douglas
Bass musician: Missy Raines
Fiddle musician: Michael Cleveland
Guitar musician: Jim Hurst
Mandolin musician: Chris Thile
Broadcast personality: Eddie Stubbs, WSM-AM in Nashville, Tenn.
Print media personality: Richard D. Smith
Liner notes: John Weisberger for "Always in Style" by John Duffey
Graphic design: Sue Meyer for "Foundation: The Doc Watson Guitar Instrumental Collection, 1964-1998" by Doc Watson
Event: Huck Finn's Country & Bluegrass Jubilee 2001, Victorville, Calif., produced by Don Tucker
Distinguished Achievement Award: The Coen Brothers and T. Bone Burnett, Alice Gerrard, the Gibson Co., John Hartford, Les Leverett
Hall of Honor inductee: The Carter Family

AP LogoCopyright 2001 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.