Coldplay Drops Surprise Track 'Hypnotised' Ahead of 'Kaleidoscope' EP Release

Coldplay aren’t ready to pack it in just yet. The British alternative rock outfit today dropped a surprise new track "Hypnotised," the first lifted from the five-track Kaleidoscope EP, due out on June 2.

"Hypnotised" is a birthday present from Chris Martin to his band's fans. The singer, who turned 40 on Thursday, declares the dreamy, piano-heavy ballad as "a new non-single from the EP.” 

A Mary Wigmore-directed lyric video accompanies “Hypnotised,” which is now available across the myriad digital music services. “Now I'm hyp, hypnotised/Yeah I trip, when I look in your eyes/Oh I'm hyp, hypnotised/Yeah I slip and I'm mesmerized,” sings Martin in its chorus.

Coldplay’s collaboration with the Chainsmokers, "Something Just Like This," will also appear on the new EP alongside three unreleased tracks. With a No. 2 entry on the U.K.’s midweek chart, "Something Just Like This" is poised for a big debut when the weekly Official U.K. Singles Chart is published this Friday. The collabo is already a record-breaker, having set a new mark on YouTube for single-day views (9 million hits).

The forthcoming EP is the sister release to the band's seventh studio LP A Head Full Of Dreams, which was rumored to be the act’s last. A Head Full Of Dreams bowed at No. 2 in the U.S. and No. 1 in the U.K. and has sold more than five million copies around the globe since it arrived in December 2015, according to reps for the band. 

Watch "Hypnotised" below.


Kaleidoscope tracklist
1. All I Can Think About Is You
2. Something Just Like This
3. Miracles 2
4. A L I E NS
5. Hypnotised



The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.