Sleater-Kinney to Release First Live Album, Shares Video for 'Surface Envy': Watch

Brigitte Sire


Sleater-Kinney will release their first ever live album later this month. 

The career-spanning LP Live In Paris will drop Jan. 27 through Sub Pop, the influential punk-rockers’ label home of the last 12 years.  

The set was recorded March 20, 2015 at the historic La Cigale theater in the French capital when Sleater-Kinney -- comprising guitarists/vocalists Corin Tucker and Carrie Brownstein (also of Portlandia fame) and drummer Janet Weiss -- were in support mode for their eighth album and first in nearly a decade, No Cities To Love.

Sub Pop also shared the Live In Paris tracklist and dropped the first song from it, "Surface Envy," the fan-filmed video for which can be seen below. The iconic Seattle label has worked with Sleater-Kinney on its two most recent studio albums, the 2005 studio set The Woods and its followup from 2015, No Cities To Love

Sleater-Kinney belted out their classics at a New Year’s Eve gig in San Francisco, before wrapping their set with covers of David Bowie and George Michael songs. The performance was the group's first since Chicago’s Riot Fest in September.

Live In Paris tracklist
1. Price Tag
2. Oh!
3. What’s Mine Is Yours
4. A New Wave
5. Start Together
6. No Cities To Love
7. Surface Envy
8. I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone
9. Turn It On
10. Entertain
11. Jumpers
12. Dig Me Out
13. Modern Girl


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.