Ryan Adams Unveils New Album 'Prisoner,' Shares First Single 'Do You Still Love Me': Listen

Ryan Adams performs in 2014
Dave J Hogan/Getty Images for Invictus Games

Ryan Adams performs on Sept. 14, 2014.

Ryan Adams promised he won’t attempt another covers album and he’s sticking to his word. The singer-songwriter has shared details of Prisoner, his first album of new material since 2014’s self-titled set and the follow-up to 2015’s cover of Taylor Swift's 1989.

Prisoner will be released Feb. 17 (through Pax Am/Blue Note/Capitol) and features the freewheeling rock ballad "Do You Still Love Me?," which dropped Wednesday (Dec. 7) to stream and download and as an instant grat with all album pre-orders.

The 42-year-old has earned a reputation as a prolific music-maker, but he’s been operating like a perpetual motion machine in recent years. Adams buried himself with hectic recording and touring commitments (Adams’ Live at Carnegie Hall album also dropped in 2015) and found he was plain out of time. And it’s this loss of such a precious commodity which presented the Grammy-nominated artist with a theme. "I was reflecting on the different states of desire and what it means to be a prisoner of your own desire," explains Adams about his new LP, "I felt like I had been robbed of... the most valuable thing in a person's life…Time."

Prisoner was shaped in the aftermath of Adams' divorce from actress Mandy Moore. The 12-track project literally poured out of him. "Whatever was going on in me was strong enough that I only had to sit down and this stuff just made itself known,” he adds in a statement. 

Adams premiered "Do You Still Love Me?" at his one-off concert on Tuesday (Dec. 6) at Sydney’s Enmore Theatre and there's a good chance he'll air it again when he plays Tokyo's Studio Coast on Friday. 

Stream the new single and check out the tracklist for Prisoner below.  


‘Prisoner' tracklisting 1. Do You Still Love Me? 2. Prisoner 3. Doomsday 4. Haunted House 5. Shiver and Shake 6. To Be Without You 7. Anything I Say To You Now 8. Breakdown 9. Outbound Train 10. Broken Anyway 11. Tightrope 12. We Disappear


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.