Billboard Bits: System Of A Down, Manilow, Grushecky

News on System Of A Down, Manilow, Grushecky

SOADSystem Of A Down yesterday (April 23) released an enhanced version of its latest album, "Toxicity" (American/Columbia). The new set features the same 14 tracks repackaged with a "metallic rendering" of the cover art and a companion DVD. Released last September, "Toxicity" debuted at No.1 on The Billboard 200 and has sold 1.9 million units to date, according to SoundScan.

The DVD boasts a music video for the album's title track and live footage taken from last year's Pledge of Allegiance tour. Featured songs include "Chop Suey!," "Prison Song," and "Bounce." Both "Bounce" and "Chop Suey" were also featured on Columbia's Pledge of Allegiance compilation CD, released March 26. The disc culled live performances from each act that performed on the tour, including Slipknot and Mudvayne.

As previously reported, System Of A Down will headline this year's Ozzfest tour, due to kick off in early July, and then anchor the second edition of the Pledge of Allegiance tour, slated for the fall.

-- Todd Martens, L.A.

Barry Manilow's performance tonight (April 24) at Hollywood's Kodak Theater will be taped for an hour-long CBS television special scheduled to air May 18 at 9 p.m. ET/PT. Like his recently released Arista collection, the special will be dubbed "Ultimate Manilow," and will feature the artist performing a selection of songs spanning his entire career. Beginning May 4, Manilow will embark on a 12-date U.K. tour. He'll spend the summer on the road in the U.S., kicking off a stateside run with four shows June 6-8 at Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas. The tour is set to close Aug. 2-4 at the PNC Bank Arts Center in Holmdel, N.J. Released in February, "Ultimate Manilow" debuted at No. 1 on Billboard's Top Internet Albums chart and No. 3 on The Billboard 200, marking Manilow's highest bow on the latter tally. His latest studio album, "Here at the Mayflower," was released last November as part of a new deal with Concord. The set debuted at No. 90 on The Billboard 200.

Pittsburgh-based singer/songwriter Joe Grushecky has set a May 7 retail release date for his latest album, "Fingerprints." Issued via New Jersey's Schoolhouse Records label, the album has been available for several weeks via Grushecky's Web site . For a change, the 14-song album finds Grushecky backed a group of musicians that don't make up his longtime backing band, the Houserockers. Instead he's playing with drummer Tony Mora and producer Rick Witkowski (bass/guitar/percussion) on most of the tracks. The set also features drumming by his son Johnny on the song "Talk Is Cheap" and vocals by his wife Lee Ann on the song "Something To Cry About." Grushecky will perform Friday (April 26) in his hometown, and has live appearances slated throughout May and into June. For a full schedule, visit his site.