Angel Olsen's Otherworldly Webster Hall Show: 5 Things That Stunned Us

Scott Kowalchyk/CBS via Getty Images
Angel Olsen performs in New York City on Aug. 29, 2016. 

During her triumphant sold-out show at Webster Hall on Saturday night, and just days into her My Woman world tour, singer-songwriter Angel Olsen made sure to leave a forceful impression, as she brought the audience to complete silence on multiple occasions throughout her stunning, emotive set -- a near impossibility at packed shows.

Angel Olsen Reveals The Albums That Made Her One Of Indie's Most Promising Stars

Featuring mostly tracks from her just released new album My Woman (Jagjaguwar), Olsen’s set captivated the packed-to-the-brim crowd from start to finish, with a clear display of her musicianship, brilliant songwriting, and otherworldly vocal ability. And just three songs in, as Olsen's latest single "Shut Up Kiss Me" filled the room, it was clear everyone in attendance was fully transfixed by the talent. 

Besides the obvious standout '"Shut Up," which she also recently performed on The Late Show With Steven Colbert (Aug. 30), below are five things from the show that stood out.

1. New Six-Piece Band

As showcased in her recent appearance on Colbert, her now six-piece band delivers a more fleshed-out sonic experience for longtime fans of the songstress. With three guitarists, a bassist, drummer and backup vocalist, the strong backing band suits the new tunes especially well, given their full-figured arrangements when compared to her first two records, which leaned mostly toward the acoustic.

2. Retro Style On Point

Also showcased on Colbert (as seen above), Olsen's penchant for retro-leaning fashion is clear. However, the coordination has never been more apparent or successful, as Olsen stood out in a retro olive-green dress, with her bandmates in matching grayish-blue suits, giving us Lesley Gore and Roy Orbison '60s vibes. 

3. Seamless Acoustic to Electric Transitions

On "Lights Out," a standout from her sophomore LP Burn Your Fire for No Witness, and again on My Woman electrifier "Not Gonna Kill You," Olsen and Co. expertly slid from acoustics to psychedelics, at one point seriously channeling Zeppelin during the latter's raucous come down, as Olsen shrieked over whirling guitars "It's not gonna kill you/ Not gonna kill you."

4. Comedic Interludes

"What a sexy crowd it is tonight," Olsen told fans early in the night, later getting more in-depth: "It's gonna be all right, you know why? You're such a good-looking crowd, that's why. Make sure to wear protection tonight," followed by a perfectly cued drum roll. 

5. Knockout Encore

Following the devastating run through Burn Your Fire closer "Windows," Olsen re-emerged for a one-two punch of an encore, first with a delicate trio performance of the lush and hazy My Woman lead track "Intern," followed by a dazzling full-band run through "Woman," as she cooed "I dare you to understand/ what makes me a woman."

Setlist:

Never Be Mine
Hi-Five
Shut Up Kiss Me
Lights Out
Heart Shaped Face
Sister
Those Were the Days
Drunk and with Dreams
Acrobat
Windows
Not Gonna Kill You
Sweet Dreams
Forgiven/Forgotten
Give It Up

Encore:
Intern
Woman

Angel Olsen My Woman Tour Dates:
Tue. Sep. 20 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair * -- SOLD OUT
Wed. Sep. 21 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair & -- SOLD OUT
Thu. Sep. 22 - South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Ballroom &
Fri. Sep. 23 - Montreal, QC @ Rialto Theatre &
Sat. Sep. 24 - Toronto, ON @ Mod Club & -- SOLD OUT
Sun. Sep. 25 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace &
Mon. Sep. 26 - Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch &
Tue. Sep. 27 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall & -- SOLD OUT
Wed. Sep. 28 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall &
Fri. Sep. 30 - St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway &
Sat. Oct. 1 - Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle & -- SOLD OUT
Thu. Oct. 13 – Brighton, UK @ Concord 2 #
Fri. Oct. 14 – Manchester, UK @ Club Academy #
Sat. Oct. 15 – Glasgow, UK @ SWG3 Studio Warehouse #
Sun. Oct. 16 – Bristol, UK @ The Marble Factory #
Mon. Oct. 17 – London, UK @ KOKO # -- SOLD OUT
Wed. Oct. 19 – Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel #
Thu. Oct. 20 – Copenhagen, DK @ Koncerthuset, Studie 2 #
Fri. Oct. 21 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee #
Sat. Oct. 22 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand #
Sun. Oct. 23 – Goeteborg, SE @ Pustervik #
Tue. Oct. 25 – Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater #
Wed. Oct. 26 – Munich, DE @ Ampere #
Thu. Oct. 27 – Zuerich, CH @ Bogen F #
Fri. Oct. 28 – Koeln, DE @ Stadtgarten #
Sat. Oct. 29 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique #
Thu. Nov. 3 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall %
Fri. Nov. 4 – Paris, FR @ La Gaîté Lyrique #
Sat. Nov. 5 – Den Haag, NL @ Crossing Border Festival
Sun. Nov. 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Tolhuistuin #
Sat. Nov. 26 - Hobart, TAS @ Grand Poobah
Mon. Nov. 28 - Melbourne, AU @ Corner
Thu. Dec. 1 - Lismore, NSW @ Lismore City Hall
Fri. Dec. 2 - Brisbane, QLD @ Brightside
Sat. Dec. 3 - Berri, NSW @ Fairground Festival
Mon. Dec. 5 - Sydney, NSW @ Sydney Opera House Studio
Wed. Dec. 7 - Adelaide, SA @ Grace Emily
Thu. Dec. 8 - Perth, WA @ Badlands
Sat. Dec. 10 - Melbourne, VIC @ Meredith Festival
Tue. Dec. 13 - Wellington, NZ @ San Fran
Wed. Dec. 14 - Auckland, NZ @ Kings Arms
Fri. Feb. 3 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Sat. Feb. 4 – New Orleans, LA @ The Republic
Tue. Feb. 7 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Wed. Feb. 8 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
Fri. Feb. 10 – Denver, CO @ The Bluebird Theater
Sat. Feb. 11 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf
Sun. Feb. 12 – Phoenix, AX @ The Crescent Ballroom
Tue. Feb. 14 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
Wed. Feb. 15 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Fri. Feb. 17 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Sat. Feb. 18 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre

* = with Alex Cameron
& = with Rodrigo Amarante
# = with Little Wings
% = special collaborative performance w/ The Raincoats