Zara Larsson, Kent Jones & More: Spotify Editors' Picks for New Music Friday

Every week, Spotify updates their "New Music Friday" playlist, featuring 50 of the freshest new tracks hitting the service that week.

On the heels of Billboard’s partnership with the streaming giant, we’ll be tapping Spotify’s editors to sift through the soon-to-be-hits and highlight the best of the bunch.

Check out the picks and listen to the entire “New Music Friday” playlist below.

Zara Larsson - “Ain’t My Fault”

Swedish crooner Zara Larsson is back at the top of our New Music Friday playlist this week, with her new single “Ain’t My Fault” taking no prisoners. In Larsson’s own words, the swag-ladden track was inspired by an all-too real scenario, where she admits it’s not her fault when she steals another woman’s man. The track, co-written by frequent collaborator MNEK, is set to appear on her debut international album, with Larsson also performing this undeniably banging single on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon this week. “Ain’t My Fault” is already proving to be a strong contender for one of the sexiest songs out this year.

Kent Jones - “Alright”

Kent Jones shared a new solo offering. “Alright” gives a nod towards Earth, Wind & Fire’s 1981 smash hit, “Let’s Groove,” while updating the vibe to fit smoothly into the sounds more commonly found in 2016. The track marks the second solo single from the We The Best artist this year and is produced by Jones himself, alongside Illa. We ain’t mad at him for this one.

FRENSHIP - “1000 Nights”

Electro-pop duo FRENSHIP continue to win over new audiences with every smart release. The LA-based group, comprised of James Sunderland and Brett Hite, released their new EP, Truce, in advance of a forthcoming 50-plus-city tour run alongside Cherub. The five tracks make for a fitting and whimsical collection of songs as the group moves onward and upward navigating the promising-yet-still-uncharted waters of where their career may be taking them next. The single “1000 Nights” holds a mysterious vulnerability, with lyrics detailing that sometimes it takes wandering by yourself to realize that you’ve been “digging up fool’s gold” this whole time. 

Ryan Follesé - “Put A Label On It”

Ryan Follesé released his new self-titled EP, which doubles as the 29-year-old declaring a new chapter in his already-impressive music career. In addition to fronting the American Music Award-winning band Hot Chelle Rae, best known for “Tonight Tonight,” for the past decade, Follesé is pursuing a new direction by way of recording as a solo artist. Follesé’s vivid “Put A Label On It” details him taking the inevitable, but still bold, risk to define a relationship and call it what it is, in a way that would make anyone grin while being courted. His happiness shines through on “Put A Label On It,” adding an exciting honesty to the project that his choice to experiment with country music for the first time is coming from a genuine place, and as a result, Follesé is making some of his best music to date.

Sylvan Esso - “Radio”

A standout track on this week’s New Music Friday playlist comes from the electronic-leaning duo Sylvan Esso. Sharing an ode to the grim reality that our commodified culture is a slave to technology, especially within music, their new single “Radio” is brilliantly catchy while also playing up the irony that it’s brilliantly catchy at the same time. “Radio” is deliciously devious, with its pulsing electronic production acting as a perfect playground for Amelia Meath to sing her tongue-in-cheek truths. Meath, along with Nick Sanburn, are gearing up to release their sophomore album, due out sometime next year, with “Radio” being a tease of the controlled chaos the two have been cooking up in the studio over the past two years since their 2014 debut.