Gryffin, Cashmere Cat & The Weeknd Are Spotify Editors' Picks for New Music Friday

New Music Friday

Every week, Spotify updates their "New Music Friday" playlist, featuring 50 of the freshest new tracks hitting the service that week.

On the heels of Billboard’s partnership with the streaming giant, we’ll be tapping Spotify’s editors to sift through the soon-to-be-hits and highlight the best of the bunch.

Check out the picks and listen to the entire “New Music Friday” playlist below.

Gryffin, Bipolar Sunshine — “Whole Heart”

Gryffin makes a welcome return to our New Music Friday playlist this week with his single, “Whole Heart.” The Bipolar Sunshine-assisted track is building an intriguing argument that the more we get to know Gryffin, the more we find reasons to like him. After making a strong introduction earlier this year with his debut track “Heading Home,” the producer and remixer is finding his way deeper into our hearts, this time by making sure the world’s heart is in the right place. “Whole Heart” is a polished anthem that balances laid-back production with climactic moments that speak to fans of pop, rock and EDM with an emotionally driven message. "'Whole Heart’ is a big step for me as an artist, as it represents a developing maturity of my sound and depth of songwriting," he says of the song. "I have never felt more motivated to release a song because ‘Whole Heart’ captures what is so relevant with the current state of the world today. I hope that when people listen to this song, it motivates them to aim to do whatever they want to do in life with a whole heart and open mind. It would be even better if ‘Whole Heart’ could bring people together to promote change and positivity in a world that needs it.” Couldn’t have said it better ourselves.

Cashmere Cat & The Weeknd — “Wild Love”

Norwegian producer Cashmere Cat teaming up with Canadian heavyweight singer The Weeknd just might be our favorite collaboration of the late summer. With “Wild Love,” the two bring out the best in each other, creating a future-forward soulful tune accentuated with curious glitchy touches that further compliment The Weeknd’s signature brand of smooth, sultry vocals. “Wild Love” is the latest example of Cashmere Cat transitioning into reaching a larger audience, all without abandoning the sounds his day-one fans have long saluted him for. The track also features Francis and the Lights, whose joint effort with Kanye West and Bon Iver graced our New Music Friday playlist back in July. “Wild Love” also doubles as the title of Cashmere Cat’s forthcoming debut album, which will be released later this year via Mad Love (producer Benny Blanco’s imprint under Interscope).

Amber Mark — “Way Back”

Seeing more of the world than many her age, Amber Mark has an eclectic style influenced by her travels, combining elements of alternative R&B, tribal and soul to create vivid and dynamic dance-floor friendly tracks. The 22-year-old singer and producer made her debut earlier this year, when she shared her music online for the first time. With the overwhelmingly positive response from her single “S P A C E,” including a nod from tastemaker Zane Lowe, Mark is on the fast track to the career she's dreamed of. The half-German, half-Jamaican musician’s latest offering, lush piano-driven ballad “Way Back,” is the third single off of her debut EP, 3:33am, due out in October.

MadeinTYO — “Skateboard P”

After making waves with his breakout hit single “Uber Everywhere,” which was blessed with a feature from Travis Scott, MadeinTYO isn't content to be labeled a one-hit wonder. His latest mixtape, the 10-track Thank You, Mr. Tokyo, features production by K Swisha. Living in Tokyo for five years before returning to Atlanta has naturally influenced the 24 year-old rapper's sound. With this week's launch of MadeinTYO’s The Private Club tour run and the release of his new mixtape, "Skateboard P" is the perfect casual turn-up song to celebrate recent successes and to toast whatever’s up next. 

Goodbye June — “Daisy”

Calling Nashville home, Goodbye June is thriving in the deliciously chaotic music scene surrounding them. Through the trio’s new five-track EP, Danger In The Morning, out today (August 26), the group demonstrates how they’ve skillfully honed their ability to translate their raw live energy into a recording. “Daisy" is an excellent introduction, especially as Goodbye June prep their debut full-length, due out next year. Comprised of cousins Brandon Qualkenbush, Landon Milbourn and Tyler Baker, the group has been making music together for over a decade, joining forces in memory of Baker’s brother tragic passing and writing music as a way to both cope and create something meaningful in his honor. “Daisy” is a heartfelt track that brings it back to the glory days of rock-and-roll with an infectious enthusiasm.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.