'Game of Thrones' Live Concert Experience Coming to 28 Cities

Kevin Winter/Getty Images for Live Nation Entertainment
Isaac Hempstead Wright, left,  and composer Ramin Djawadi speak onstage during the announcement of the Game of Thrones Live Concert Experience featuring composer Ramin Djawadi at the Hollywood Palladium on Aug. 8, 2016 in Los Angeles. 

The music of HBO’s Game of Thrones will bring the world of Westeros to 28 cities throughout the U.S. starting in February. 

The arena tour, which starts Feb. 15, 2017, at Kansas City’s Spring Center, will feature the show’s composer, Ramin Djawadi, conducting an 80-piece orchestra and choir through some of the series’ best-loved themes on a 360-degree stage. Elements of the fantasy epic will come alive during the concert through LED telescoping and wall screens and special 3D designs that will rise from the stage floor.

“It’s been a couple of years in the planning,” Djawadi told Billboard. “We really wanted to make it a special event. We wanted it to be an immersive experience so that when you’re walking into the [arena], you are in Westeros.”

The show broke the news at a fan event at the Hollywood Palladium in Los Angeles on Monday (Aug. 8) with several hundred fans in attendance, some of them dressed as characters from the Emmy Award-winning show.

Kicked off by the University of Southern California’s marching band performing the Game of Thrones theme, the event included a replica of the famous Iron Throne, which fans could sit on for a photo opportunity, as well as a Hall of Faces exhibit and several costumes from characters such as Jaqen and Ayra.

Isaac Hempstead Wright, who plays Bran Stark on the series, conducted a Q&A with Djawadi, followed by a 32-piece orchestra playing a 12-minute selection of music from Game of Thrones before an appreciative audience. Djawadi told Wright the idea for the tour came after the show’s producers brought up how much they would love to see the music performed live. “It’s a big, emotional, dramatic show,” Djawadi said. “It will be nice to see real musicians play those themes and remind us of some of the characters that we’ve lost throughout the season,” he said, referring to the show’s high body count. 

Live Nation will promote the outing in partnership with HBO Global licensing. With six months to go, a number of decisions are still being made, including how many musicians will travel with the show and how many will be hired in each town. “The soloists will definitely travel with me,” Djawadi says. “We’ll see if all [the musicians] travel with me or we pick them up in different cities.”

Wright is thrilled that the music is getting its own spotlight. “It speaks volumes about the quality of the music and the show that it moves people,” he told Billboard. “The fact that the music is reaching its own kind of level is fantastic.” Djawadi added that Wright is “a fantastic pianist, so I’ve been working on him joining the band.”

Tickets for the tour go on sale Saturday via LiveNation.com.

Before the fans can see Game of Thrones Live Concert Experience, they will be able to buy a special three-disc gatefold vinyl edition of the music from the recently completed season 6, which includes a custom laser etching on the vinyl. Out Sept. 30 via WaterTower Music, the set will sell for $34.98 and includes “Light of the Seven,” a memorable theme that introduced the piano to the Game of Thrones musical world and became such a fan favorite that it charted on both iTunes and Spotify around the world. The music has already come out digitally and on CD.

GAME OF THRONES LIVE CONCERT EXPERIENCE
All dates, cities and venues below subject to change.
 
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Kansas City, MO
Sprint Center
Friday, February 17, 2017
St. Paul, MN
Xcel Energy Center
Sunday, February 19, 2017
Chicago, IL
United Center
Monday, February 20, 2017
Detroit, MI
Palace of Auburn Hills
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Columbus, OH
Nationwide Arena
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Buffalo, NY
First Niagara Center
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Uncasville, CT
Mohegan Sun
Sunday, February 26, 2017
Philadelphia, PA
Wells Fargo Center
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Washington, DC
Verizon Center
Friday, March 3, 2017
Montreal, QC
Bell Centre
Saturday, March 4, 2017
Toronto, ON
Air Canada Centre
Monday, March 6, 2017
Boston, MA
TD Bank Garden
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
New York, NY
Madison Square Garden
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Charlotte, NC
Time Warner Cable Arena
Saturday, March 11, 2017
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
BB&T Center
Sunday, March 12, 2017
Tampa, FL
Amalie Arena
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Atlanta, GA
Philips Arena
Thursday, March 16, 2017
San Antonio, TX
AT&T Center
Friday, March 17, 2017
Houston, TX
Toyota Center
Sunday, March 19, 2017
Denver, CO
Pepsi Center
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Salt Lake City, UT
Maverik Center
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Los Angeles, CA
The Forum
Saturday, March 25, 2017
Las Vegas, NV
MGM Grand Garden Arena
Sunday, March 26, 2017
Phoenix, AZ
TalkingStick Resort Arena
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
San Jose, CA
SAP Center
Friday, March 31, 2017
Seattle, WA
Key Arena
Saturday, April 1, 2017
Vancouver, BC
Rogers Arena
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Portland, OR
Moda Center