Shortlist Prize's 'Long List' Announced

A total of 75 albums make up the "Long List" from which the finalists for the second annual Shortlist Prize for Artistic Achievement in Music will be chosen.

A total of 75 albums make up the "Long List" from which the finalists for the second annual Shortlist Prize for Artistic Achievement in Music will be chosen. Chosen by a celebrity-packed panel of musicians, filmmakers, and others, the Long List reflects a diverse mix of music -- from U.K. soul/electronica act Zero 7's "Simple Things" (Palm Pictures) and the shredding rock of "Source Tags & Codes" (Interscope) by ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead to rap veteran Masta Ace's "Disposable Arts" (JCOR) and the darkly perverse "Blood Money" (Anti) by the inimitable Tom Waits.

The full Long List is printed below, and is accessible on the Shortlist Web site. The site also features streaming versions of full-length songs from the many of the nominated albums.

"Think of the Long List as your adventurous CD shopping list," Shortlist Music Project co-founder Greg Spotts said in a statement. "There is something on the Long List for everyone, and each album was hand-picked by a well-known artist, producer, or journalist."

As previously reported, the Shortlist panel is made up of 23 individuals, including the recently added Alanis Morissette and U2 drummer Larry Mullen Jr. Others artists involved include Iggy Pop, India.Arie, Beck, Mos Def, Sonic Youth's Kim Gordon, Paul Oakenfold, Jill Scott, and Metallica's Lars Ulrich. Film directors Baz Luhrmann ("Moulin Rouge") and Spike Jonze ("Being John Malkovich") are also on the panel.

Each "listmaker" nominated five albums for the Long List. Titles had to be released in the U.S. between July 2001 and August 2002 and have sold fewer than 500,000 copies at the time of nomination. Panel members will now pare the list down by selecting 10 albums each, with the top vote-getters becoming Shortlist finalists. The winner will be selected by the listmakers at an Oct. 29 awards ceremony and concert at Los Angeles' Knitting Factory.

Interestingly, albums by two members of the panel are also on the Long List. Sonic Youth's "Murray Street" (DGC) and "In Search Of..." (Virgin) by N.E.R.D., which is made up of members of the production team the Neptunes, were both nominated by the committee.

Among the individual artists picks, India.Arie nominated Cee-Lo's "Cee-Lo Green And His Perfect Imperfections" (Arista), and Jonze had the Flaming Lips' "Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots" (Warner Bros.) among his choices. Morissette named another female singer songwriter, Beth Orton ("Daybreaker," Astralwerks) to her list, while the Roots' Ahmir "?uestlove" Thompson nominated electronic act Jazzanova ("In Between," Ropeadope).

Ryan Adams is the only artist to have made the long list for both years of the Shortlist competition. This year, his Lost Highway album "Gold" follows last year's nomination of "Heartbreaker" (Bloodshot).

Last year's inaugural event saw listmakers that included Beck, Macy Gray, Aimee Mann, Mos Def, and Thompson choose Icelandic rock act Sigur Ros' "Agaetis Byrjun" (Fat Cat) as the first Shortlist Music Prize honoree. The group received $10,000 and a $10,000 donation in its name to a Sept. 11th relief charity of its choice. Sigur Ros and fellow finalists Talib Kweli, Dandy Warhols, and Nikka Costa performed during the ceremony.

Here is the complete Long List for the 2002 Shortlist Prize:

"Labor Days," Aesop Rock (Definitive Jux)
"Source Tags & Codes," ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead (Interscope)
"I Get Wet," Andrew W.K. (Island)
"Arrythmia," Anti-Pop Consortium (Warp)
"Drukqs," Aphex Twin (Warp/Sire)
"Storytelling," Belle & Sebastian (Matador)
"Daybreaker," Beth Orton (Astralwerks)
"Vespertine," Bjork (Elektra)
"Blazing Arrow," Blackalicious (MCA)
"Ancient Melodies of the Future," Built To Spill (Warner Bros.)
"A Good Tip For A Good Time," Cato Salsa Experience (Emperor Norton)
"Cee-Lo Green and His Perfect Imperfections," Cee-Lo (Arista)
"Walking With Thee," Clinic (Domino)
"New American Language," Dan Bern (Messenger)
"Zap the World," Death By Chocolate (Jetset)
"Zen," DJ Krush (Red Ink)
"Under Tha Influence," DJ Quik (Ark 21)
"The Private Press," DJ Shadow (MCA)
"The Last Broadcast," Doves (Capitol)
"Southern Rock Opera," Drive-By Truckers (Lost Highway)
"Fantastic Damage," El-P (Definitive Jux)
"El-P Presents Cannibal Ox Oxstrumentals," El-P & Cannibal Ox (Definitive Jux)
"Other Animals," Erase Errata (Troubleman Unlimited)
"Kittenz and Thee Glitz," Felix Da Housecat (Emperor Norton)
"Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots," Flaming Lips (Warner Bros.)
"Universal Truths and Cycles," Guided By Voices (Matador)
"Something Wicked This Way Comes," Herbaliser (Ninja Tune)
"Burn It Black," Injected (Island)
"Denials, Delusions, and Decisions," Jaguar Wright (MCA)
"In Between," Jazzanova (Ropeadope)
"JJ72," JJ72 (Columbia)
"All of the Above," J-Live (Coup D'Etat)
"Star Kitty's Revenge," Joi (Universal)
"Concrete Love," Julia Fordham (Atlantic)
"Kinky," Kinky (Nettwerk)
"Nuevo," Kronos Quartet (Elektra/Asylum)
"Life on a String," Laurie Anderson (Atlantic)
"Feminist Sweepstakes," Le Tigre (Mr. Lady)
"Feeling Orange Sometimes Blue: The Jazz Singer Limited Edition," Ledisi (Lesun Music)
"The Golden Dove," Mary Timony (Matador)
"Disposable Arts," Masta Ace (JCOR)
"Cookie: The Anthropological Mix Tape," MeShell Ndegeocello (Maverick
"The Moldy Peaches," the Moldy Peaches (Sanctuary)
"In Search Of...," N.E.R.D. (Virgin)
"Tunin' Up and Cosignin'," N'Dambi (Cheeky I)
"Emigrante," Orishas (Surco)
"1,000 Kisses," Patty Griffin (ATO)
"Princess Superstar Is," Princess Superstar (K7/Rapster)
"Mortal Mirror," Quix*o*tic (Kill Rock Stars)
"And the Surrounding Mountains," Radar Brothers (Merge)
"Instant Vintage," Raphael Saadiq (Universal)
"The Way I Feel," Remy Shand (Universal)
"Dead Ringer," RJD2 (Definitive Jux)
"Gold," Ryan Adams (Lost Highway)
"Murray Street," Sonic Youth (DGC/Geffen)
"It's a Wonderful Life," Sparklehorse (Capitol)
"Musique Automatique," Stereo Total (Bobsled)
"Rings Around the World," Super Furry Animals (XL/Beggars Group)
"Genetic World," Telepopmusik (Capitol)
"Since I Left You," the Avalanches (Sire)
"Souljacker," Eels (DreamWorks)
"Danse Macabre," the Faint (Saddle Creek)
"Veni Vidi Vicious," the Hives (Burning Heart/Epitaph/Warner Bros.)
"I Can See Your House From Here," the Scooters (Aeronaut)
"Highly Evolved," the Vines (Capitol)
"Loud," Timo Maas (Kinetic)
"Blood Money," Tom Waits (Anti)
"Tomahawk," Tomahawk (Ipecac)
"Twinemen," Twinemen (High N Dry)
"Sharpen Your Teeth," Ugly Casanova (Sub Pop)
"Yankee Hotel Foxtrot," Wilco (Nonesuch)
"Lost Change," Will.I.Am (Beat Generation)
"Built From Scratch," X-ecutioners (Loud)
"Simple Things," Zero 7 (Palm Pictures)