New Music Friday: Spotify Editors Pick Major Lazer, Prophets of Rage, Miranda Lambert & More

Every week, Spotify updates their "New Music Friday" playlist, featuring 50 of the freshest new tracks hitting the service that week.

On the heels of Billboard’s partnership with the streaming giant, we’ll be tapping Spotify’s editors each week to sift through the soon-to-be-hits and highlight the best of the bunch.

Check out the picks and listen to the entire “New Music Friday” playlist below.

Major Lazer x Bieber x MØ - “Cold Water”

The highly-anticipated collaboration between Major LazerJustin Bieber and MØ has fans already working on manifesting a full-length project between the aforementioned parties. (Hey, it could happen, especially if the Internet wills it into existence!) Back in May, Bieber hinted on Twitter that he and Diplo had more music in the vault following the success of “Where Are Ü Now,” and it looks as though their latest joint effort is already making waves. On “Cold Water,” each seasoned hit-maker brings their own talents to the table, with the tune dancing somewhere in-between pop and electronic territories. The track marks the return of Bieber, who is currently on the road amid his vigorous third worldwide tour, and takes a dive into the Canadian singer’s personal life, with lyrics such as “Everybody gets high sometimes ya know / Cause we all get lost sometimes you know / It’s how we learn and grow,” hinting at his somewhat-troublesome past. Co-written by Ed Sheeran and Benny Blanco, the song is laced together with a moombahton-flavored beat and strengthened by the harmonious vocal offerings of Bieber and MØ. All in all, the song is a pleasant addition to New Music Friday this week and is a sure promise to soundtrack the rest of this summer’s adventures.

Gucci Mane - P**** Print (feat Kanye West)

After releasing a too-generous helping of singles off of his homecoming album, Everybody LookingGucci Mane’s post-prison project has finally arrived and reminds us he stays winning. Fresh off of his in-depth conversation with The New York Times, his first formal interview since being released, Gucci reveals that he didn’t realize the extent of his addiction to drugs until he was locked up and went through some serious withdrawal. Despite now embracing a sober lifestyle, the rapper has cooked up some undeniable party bangers, adding “P**** Print” to the pile and reclaiming his reputed position as the Trap God. Recruiting Kanye West for the explicit anthem was a wise decision, with Gucci sharing on his first verse he only featured ‘Ye because they both “some f***in’ narcissists,” and together the duo simply takes turns flexing over the synth-heavy production of Mike WiLL Made-It. With Everybody Looking, Gowop’s not only home, he’s back and better than ever.

Pierce Fulton - “Borrowed Lives” (feat. NVDES)

After captivating the attention of fans of electronic music and indie rock alike with his breakout singles “Kuala,” “No More” and “Losing You,” 24-year-old Pierce Fulton is making a welcome return to music after a serious accident left him hospitalized earlier this summer. With his new EP, Borrowed Lives, Fulton is embracing his appreciation for live instrumentation, something he feels he lost when he dove deep into producing as an electronic-leaning musician. Sharing that this project is his first full step back into being a musician again, his decision to refocus on incorporating the love for guitar and piano he fostered as a young child is working in his favor. Tapping NVDES for accompanying vocals, “Borrowed Lives” covers a lot of ground throughout its 5-minute duration and acts as a reintroduction for Fulton as he navigates familiar territories between genres and starts this new chapter of his life and music career alike.

Miranda Lambert - “Vice”

Releasing her first song since her 2014 album, PlatinumMiranda Lambert makes a compelling return with “Vice,” the introductory single from her forthcoming sixth studio album. Co-written alongside Josh Osborne and Shane McAnally, the Grammy Award winning singer-songwriter opens the track with a cappella vocals and the occasional static scratch of a record player before introducing a soft and subtle backdrop that helps frame her piercingly beautiful voice. Currently on the road heading herKeeper of the Flame tour, as well as joining fellow country heavyweight Kenny Chesney for some stadium shows across the U.S., Lambert is warming up for what she has next, with “Vice” tiding eager fans over until she reveals more details behind her currently unannounced album.

Prophets of Rage - "Prophets of Rage"

The rap-rock supergroup is taking over. As the group’s politically-charged momentum continues to build, their fierce debut single is raising the bar high in the best way possible. Demanding the way to be cleared, the title track is a new take on the original Public Enemy song of the same name and declares the mission the supergroup is unapologetically setting out to accomplish. The band, comprised of Rage Against the Machine members Tom Morello,Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk, Public Enemy’s Chuck D and Cypress Hill’s B-Real, is currently embarking on their Make America Rage Again tour, which kicked off on Tuesday this past week, in conjunction with the Republican National Convention. The group has a lot to say, and their high-energy angst is already being celebrated through their music and their message alike, as they hope to inspire people to get involved and take a stand against the “politicians who make empty promises.” As more and more protest anthems arise leading up to this year’s presidential election, we’re more than here for what Prophets of Rage is all about.