Tidal Releases 15 Prince Albums for Late Legend's Birthday

Prince performs during the 46th Annual Grammy Awards
AP Photo/Kevork Djansezian, File

Prince performs during the 46th Annual Grammy Awards in a Los Angeles on Feb. 8, 2004. 

Tidal is celebrating Prince’s birthday with an album release bonanza. The streaming music service has rolled out 15 Prince albums to commemorate would have been the Purple One's 58th birthday. 

Spike Lee Throws Dance Party Ahead of Prince's Birthday

A collection of rarities, b-sides, unreleased recordings and live albums arrived on Tidal at midnight. The big drop includes The Black Album, New Power Soul and The Rainbow Children.

Prince was an advocate of Jay Z's music subscription service from the get-go. In 2015, the music icon removed his music from all other streaming services and offered his albums HITNRUN Phase and HITNRUN Phase Two as exclusives on its platform.

"After one meeting, it was obvious that Jay Z and the team he has assembled at TIDAL recognize and applaud the effort that real musicians put in2 their craft 2 achieve the very best they can at this pivotal time in the music industry," Prince said in a statement in August 2015. "TIDAL have honored Us with a non-restrictive arrangement that once again allows Us to continue making art in the fashion We've grown accustomed 2 and We're Extremely grateful 4 their generous support."

How Prince's Death Was Covered by Newspapers Around the Globe

Prince died from an opioid overdose on April 21. In the week following his death, Prince’s albums and songs sold more than 4 million copies in the U.S., according to Nielsen Music. In the tracking week prior to his passing, Prince’s music sold comparably little: just 5,000 albums and 14,000 song downloads.

Prince’s albums available now on Tidal 

The Black Album (1987)
The Gold Experience (1995)
Chaos & Disorder (1996)
Crystal Ball (1998)
1999: The New Master (1999)
Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic (1999)
Rave In2 The Joy Fantastic (2001)
The Rainbow Children (2001)
One Nite Alone... Live! (2002)
One Nite Alone... The Aftershow: It Ain't Over (2002)
Indigo Nights (2008)
The New Power Generation
Exodus (1995)
New Power Soul (1998)
1-800-NEW-FUNK (1994)
Girl 6 - Official (1996)