Billboard Bits: CMAs, Springsteen, Jackson/Crowell

News on CMAs, Springsteen, Jackson/Crowell

NellyLoretta Lynn, Trace Adkins, Steve Azar, Lonestar's Richie McDonald, Diamond Rio's Marty Roe, John Michael Montgomery, and Chris Cagle have been added to the list of presenters for the 36th annual Country Music Association (CMA) Awards, to be handed out tomorrow (Nov. 6) at the Grand Ole Opry house in Nashville. The event will air live on CBS.

As previously reported, the biggest names in country music will be on hand to perform, including Brooks & Dunn with Kim Richey, Kenny Chesney, Faith Hill, host Vince Gill, Alan Jackson, Rebecca Lynn Howard, Toby Keith, Alison Krauss and Union Station, Carolyn Dawn Johnson, Martina McBride, Montgomery Gentry, Joe Nichols, Nickel Creek, Brad Paisley, Dolly Parton, Rascal Flatts, George Strait, Travis Tritt, Shania Twain, Keith Urban, Phil Vassar, Lee Ann Womack, and Darryl Worley.

Jessica Andrews, Clint Black and Lisa Hartman Black, Tracy Byrd, Deana Carter, Terri Clark, Tammy Cochran, George Jones, Blake Shelton, Trick Pony, and Mark Wills are among the additional presenters.

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

NellyBruce Springsteen and the E Street Band have postponed a show tomorrow (Nov. 6) in Austin, Texas, after saxophonist Clarence Clemons underwent surgery for a detached retina. The concert has been rescheduled for March 2. Original tickets will be honored for the new date; fans can obtain refunds at point of purchase. It is not yet known if Clemons' condition will necessitate juggling of any additional shows. The band is scheduled to play Columbus, Ohio, on Saturday.

Last Sunday night in Dallas, Springsteen and company were joined by Don Henley for an encore rendition of Sonny Curtis' "I Fought the Law." Springsteen's latest Columbia album, "The Rising," is No. 53 in its 13th week on The Billboard 200.

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

NellyAlan Jackson and Rodney Crowell took top honors at the 40th annual ASCAP Country Music Awards last night (Nov. 4) at the Opryland Hotel in Nashville, Billboard Bulletin reports. Jackson earned songwriter/artist of the year and received ASCAP's top Golden Note Award. Crowell, whose hits include "Leavin' Louisiana in the Broad Daylight," and "Shame on the Moon," was presented the ASCAP Creative Achievement Award.

Darrell Scott, whose credits include "Born To Fly" and "It's A Great Day To Be Alive," was named songwriter of the year.

-- Deborah Evans Price, Nashville


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.