MAGIC! Announces New Album, 'Primary Colors,' Due Out July 1

Magic! 2016
Courtesy of RCA


MAGIC! has announced its new album, Primary Colors, will be released on July 1 through Latium/RCA Records. The set is the band's second effort, and follows their breakthrough debut, Don't Kill the Magic, which peaked at No. 6 on the Billboard 200 chart. 

Don't Kill the Magic contained the smash single “Rude,” which spent six weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100, sold 3.3 million downloads and earned 313 million on-demand streams in the U.S., according to Nielsen Music.

The title Primary Colors is “about starting from the basics,” the band’s Nasri Atweh tells Billboard. “Even though we had this big song ‘Rude’… you have to go back to the basics and make sure that you’re mixing the right colors together. That was important for us. Especially for our sound.”

Atweh says the new album has a lot of different sounds -- it’s fun, rhythmic, and has “reggae vibes,” but also some touching moments as well. “We’re very excited to get it out there.”

The set is led by the single “Lay You Down Easy,” featuring Sean Paul. It debuted at No. 1 on Billboard’s Reggae Digital Songs chart, and its official music video has collected more than a million global views on YouTube.