Courtney Barnett, Tame Impala's Kevin Parker Win Big at APRA Awards

Courtney Barnett
Courtesy Photo

Courtney Barnett

Courtney Barnett and Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker extended their respective winning streaks by collecting top honors at the 2016 APRA Music Awards, held Tuesday (April 5) night at Carriageworks in Sydney. 

Parker won song of the year award for "Let It Happen," lifted from the psychedelic rock outfit’s hit third album Currents, which won five ARIA Awards last year and earned a Grammy nomination. Tame Impala’s APRAs glory comes soon after they took out the international group category at the 2016 Brit Awards.

Courtney Barnett Talks New Music, Insecurities, Success: 'My Goal Was Never To Go to the Grammys or Play Coachella'

Barnett, meanwhile, won for songwriter of the year, which was awarded by the APRA AMCOS board of publisher and writer directors. 

The Melbourne-based singer and songwriter has been the beneficiary of a flood of critical recognition in recent months. Her debut LP Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit won Triple J's prestigious J album for album of the year last November, she scooped a raft of ARIA and AIR Awards in 2015 and was nominated for the best new artist at the Grammy Awards. Just last month, she took out the 11th annual Australian Music Prize.

In victory at the APRAs, Barnett ended the streak of another artist, Sia, who had earned the title on the previous three occasions.

Sia’s APRAs were by no means a failure. The Adelaide born-and-raised singer and songwriter won most played Australian work overseas for “Chandelier,” her seventh career APRA Award. 

Also on the night, electronic act Peking Duk claimed a pair of APRAs for “Take Me Over” (featuring Safia), which won for dance work of the year and most played Australian work.

Tame Impala, Courtney Barnett Triumph at ARIA Awards

Breakthrough songwriter of the year went to Alex Hope; country work of the year award was claimed by Lee KernaghanColin Buchanan and Garth Porter for Spirit of the ANZACS; Phil Barton scooped the inaugural overseas recognition award; rock work of the year was awarded to Birds of Tokyo for “Anchor”; and pop work of the year went to Jarryd James and Joel Little for James’ hit “Do You Remember” (which won the 2015 ARIA Award win for best pop release).  

As expected, homegrown rock legends Cold Chisel took out the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

Visit the APRA Website for a gallery of photos from the night. 

2016 APRA Music Award Winners

Song of the Year 
Title:           Let it Happen
Artist:          Tame Impala       
Writer:         Kevin Parker
Publisher:    Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)
Songwriter of the Year
Writer:        Courtney Barnett   
Publisher:    Native Tongue Music Publishing
Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music
Cold Chisel
Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year
Writer:        Alex Hope
Publisher:    Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)
Overseas Recognition Award
Writer:         Phil Barton
Publisher:    Warner/Chappell Music Australia
Most Played Australian Work Overseas
Title:           Chandelier
Artist:          Sia
Writers:       Sia Furler and Jesse Shatkin
Publisher:    Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)
Most Played Australian Work 
Title:           Take Me Over
Artist:          Peking Duk feat. Safia    
Writers:       Adam Hyde*/ Reuben Styles* / Styalz Fuego^ / Ben Woolner
Publishers:  Universal Music Publishing*/ Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)^
Country Work of the Year
Title:           Spirit of the ANZACs
Artist:          Lee Kernaghan     
Writers:       Lee Kernaghan / Colin Buchanan / Garth Porter*    
Publishers:  Universal Music Publishing / Perfect Pitch Publishing*
Blues & Roots Work of the Year
Title:            Days of Gold
Artist:           Busby Marou        
Writers:        Thomas Busby / Phil Barton* / Lindsay Rimes
Publishers:   Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia) / Warner/Chappell Music Australia
Dance Work of the Year
Title:            Take Me Over
Artist:           Peking Duk feat. Safia    
Writers:        Adam Hyde*/ Reuben Styles* / Styalz Fuego^ / Ben Woolner
Publishers:    Universal Music Publishing*/ Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)^
Rock Work of the Year 
Title:           Anchor
Artist:          Birds of Tokyo
Writers:       Ian Berney / Ian Kenny / Glenn Sarangapany / Adam Spark / Adam Weston
Publisher:    Mushroom Music
Pop Work of the Year
Title:            Do You Remember
Artist:           Jarryd James
Writers:        Jarryd James / Joel Little
Publishers:    Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)
Urban Work of the Year 
Title:            Cosby Sweater
Artist:           Hilltop Hoods
Writers:        DJ Debris / MC Pressure / Suffa / Demitris Christopoulos* /John Kelman*
Publishers:    Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia) / J Albert and Son*
International Work of the Year
Title:           Uptown Funk
Artist:          Mark Ronson feat. Bruno Mars
Writers:       Jeffrey Bhasker* / Devon Gallaspy* / Philip Lawrence^ / Bruno Mars+ / Mark Ronson~ / Lonnie Simmons# / Rudy Taylor# / Nicholaus Williams~ / Charlie Wilson# / Robert Wilson# Ronnie Wilson#
Publishers:   Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Australia)* / Universal/MCA Music Publishing^ / Warner/Chappell Music Australia+ / Native Tongue Music Publishing~ / New Songs Administration Australia#