2019 Year-End Charts

Grateful Dead Tribute Album Featuring Mumford & Sons, The National, War on Drugs, Jenny Lewis & More Set for May Release

GAB Archive/Redferns
Photo of the band Gratefull Dead in the 1970s.

The five-CD "Day of the Dead" set clocks in at almost six hours. Profits from sales of the compilation will benefit the Red Hot Organization.

A tribute album dedicated to the Grateful Dead and featuring such artists as The National, Mumford & Sons, Jenny Lewis, Jim James of My Morning Jacket, the War on Drugs, and many more is set for release on May 20. Called Day of the Dead, the five-CD set, also available on limited edition vinyl, clocks in at almost six hours. Profits from sales of the compilation will benefit the Red Hot Organization, which fights AIDS/HIV health related issues around the world. It is the 20th album of original music to emerge from the non-profit's series.

Curated by brothers Aaron and Bryce Dessner of The National and released by the 4AD label, Day of the Dead is a 59-track sampling of the Grateful Dead's wide range of musical styles and spans the band's active career of 30 years preceding the 1995 death of frontman Jerry Garcia. The comp also features original Dead member Bob Weir and touring keyboardist Bruce Hornsby. (Absent, however, is John Mayer, who is currently touring with Dead & Company.)

Sonic Youth's Lee Ranaldo on His Grateful Dead Fare Thee Well Experience: High Times in Chicago

Says contributor Will Oldham: "I have worked with a few people whose minds are brilliant and complicated, musically. There's something about the Dead that allows these big-brained pickers to just chill the fuck out and feel good about it."

TV on the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe adds: "They’re one of the great, ‘do everything’ bands, take from whatever you want and warp it into something new."

Indeed, a previous tribute album called Deadicated, which featured such artists as Elvis Costello and Jane's Addiction, was well-received by Deadheads upon its release in 1991. 

Also announced along with the full track list for Day of the Dead (see below) is a live performance set to take place this summer at the Eaux Claires Festival (August 12-13) in Wisconsin and featuring Lewis, Oldham, Hornsby, Justin Vernon, Matthew Houck of Phosphorescent, Lucius, Sam Amidon, Richard Reed Perry, Matt Berninger, Ruban Nielson and The National.



“Thunder” (Vol.1)

01. Touch of Grey - The War on Drugs
02. Sugaree - Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends
03. Candyman - Jim James & Friends
04. Cassidy - Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends
05. Black Muddy River - Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison
06. Loser - Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends
07. Peggy-O - The National
08. Box of Rain - Kurt Vile and the Violators (featuring J Mascis)
09. Rubin and Cherise - Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends
10. To Lay Me Down - Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends
11. New Speedway Boogie - Courtney Barnett
12. Friend of the Devil - Mumford & Sons
13. Uncle John’s Band - Lucius
14. Me and My Uncle - The Lone Bellow & Friends
15. Mountains of the Moon - Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends
16. Black Peter - Anohni and yMusic
17. Garcia Counterpoint - Bryce Dessner
18. Terrapin Station (Suite) - Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and The National (featuring Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, So Percussion and Brooklyn Youth Chorus)
19. Attics of My Life - Angel Olsen
20. St. Stephen (live) - Wilco with Bob Weir

“Lightning” (Vol. 2)

01. If I Had the World to Give - Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy
02. Standing on the Moon - Phosphorescent & Friends
03. Cumberland Blues - Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band
04. Ship of Fools - The Tallest Man on Earth & Friends
05. Bird Song - Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends
06. Morning Dew - The National
07. Truckin’ - Marijuana Deathsquads
08. Dark Star - Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends
09. Nightfall of Diamonds - Nightfall of Diamonds
10. Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald - Tim Hecker
11. Going Down The Road Feelin' Bad - Lucinda Williams & Friends
12. Playing in the Band - Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends
13. Stella Blue - Local Natives
14. Eyes of the World - Tal National
15. Help on the Way - Bela Fleck
16. Franklin’s Tower - Orchestra Baobab
17. Till the Morning Comes - Luluc with Xylouris White
18. Ripple - The Walkmen
19. Brokedown Palace - Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream (featuring Garth Hudson)

“Sunshine” (Vol. 3)

01. Here Comes Sunshine - Real Estate
02. Shakedown Street - Unknown Mortal Orchestra
03. Brown-Eyed Women - Hiss Golden Messenger
04. Jack-A-Roe - This Is the Kit
05. High Time - Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear
06. Dire Wolf - The Lone Bellow & Friends
07. Althea - Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura
08. Clementine Jam - Orchestra Baobab
09. China Cat Sunflower -> I Know You Rider - Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks
10. Easy Wind - Bill Callahan
11. Wharf Rat - Ira Kaplan & Friends
12. Estimated Prophet - The Rileys
13. Drums -> Space - Man Forever, So Percussion and Oneida
14. Cream Puff War - Fucked Up
15. Dark Star - The Flaming Lips
16. What’s Become of the Baby - s t a r g a z e
17. King Solomon’s Marbles - Vijay Iyer
18. Rosemary - Mina Tindle & Friends
19. And We Bid You Goodnight - Sam Amidon
20. I Know You Rider (live) - The National with Bob Weir


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.