Malin, Adams Prepare To Give The Finger

The debut release by the Finger, Ryan Adams and Jesse Malin's not-so-secret punk band, will arrive in the U.S. Sept. 23 on One Little Indian Records.

The debut release by the Finger, Ryan Adams and Jesse Malin's not-so-secret punk band, will arrive in the U.S. Sept. 23 on One Little Indian Records.

The first part of the set "We Are F*** You," surfaced earlier this year in the U.K. after California-based Broadway Jungle label pressed 1,000 vinyl copies. The second half, "Punk's Dead Let's F***," was recorded later, bring the final tally to 20 tracks, a slew of which clock in at less than a minute-and-a-half.

The U.K.-based One Little Indian (which recently opened an office in the U.S., where the label is distributed by Navarre) has combined both on the disc, import versions of which are currently selling for more $30 on

Adams (guitar) and Malin (bass) are respectively listed on the album as Warren Peace and Irving Plaza (the latter being the name of a New York concert venue). They are joined on the set by a pair of fellow New York-area pals: painter/singer Colin Burns (listed as "Jim Beahm"), who handles vocals, and Johnny T. (listed as "Rick O'Shea") on drums.

In an article posted on the U.K.'s last fall, Adams said, "I'm not officially supposed to say this but there may or may not be this band called the Finger that just released this record on vinyl and... I don't know... I heard that I played on it. Let's leave it at that. I heard they're good though."

Tongue planted firmly in cheek, Malin tells Billboard, "I heard that some of the people involved are signed to other companies, other contracts, so they have to be careful. They don't want to have a big lawsuit over punk rock."

Malin explains that, from what he hears, the band was born out of a bar joke. "I heard that some people that looked like me and Ryan, Johnny and Colin were drunk, and then the next day they went in [to the studio]," he says.

"And I heard that somebody that looked like me played bass on it. And I heard that the people that they said we were wrote those songs on the spot, recorded them and mixed it, and the whole thing was done in the matter of four [or] five hours, walking in there with just the night before's hangovers, saying, 'Let's go in and make a hardcore record.'

"I heard it's a lot of fun and I heard the record's pretty good," he adds.

Says Malin, "There's talk of a third record, 'Poor Man's Airport,' which hasn't been recorded yet."

Adams produced and played on Malin's solo debut, "The Fine Art of Self Destruction" (issued last year in the U.K. and earlier this year on Artemis Records in the U.S.). Both have sat in during each other's sets countless times over the past year.

At a Fourth of July concert in New York's Battery Park, Malin, the former frontman for punk act D Generation, opened for Adams, returning later to join Adams for a concert-ending cover of the Rolling Stones' "Happy."

A spokesman for Adams' label, Lost Highway, says the artist is working on a new album. A projected release date is unknown.

Here is the "We Are F*** You/Punk's Dead Let's F***" track list:

"Come for $$$"
"Inside My Brain"
"No Roolz"
"Snakes and Scorpions"
"Never Ever"
"Run It Down"
"Wasted Hours"
"Hunger Plan"
"Nail and Tooth"
"No Slaves"
"See No Skin"
"Secret 66"
"Too Stoopid"
"Casper Lynch"
"Punk's Dead Let's F***"
"What Is It"
"The Finger"

The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.