Hot Product

Bob Dylan

That 'Masked' Man

BobBob Dylan offers newly recorded versions of two songs from his back catalog and covers of two traditional songs on Columbia's "Masked and Anonymous" soundtrack, due this week. Dylan has re-recorded "Cold Irons Bound" from his 1997 album "Time Out of Mind," as well as "Down in the Flood," from his 1971 collection "Great Hits, Vol. 2."

Dylan has also recorded the traditional songs "Diamond Joe" and "Dixie." The rest of the soundtrack is made up of Dylan songs recorded by other artists, including the Dixie Hummingbirds covering the unreleased number "City of Gold." Other artists featured are Shirley Caesar, the Grateful Dead, Los Lobos, Jerry Garcia, the Magokoro Brothers and recent Eurovision contest winner Sertab.

"Masked and Anonymous" will also be released in a limited-edition package with a bonus disc of seven catalog tracks mastered in Super Audio format and 5.1 surround sound. The track list is: "All I Really Want To Do" (unreleased live version, 1964), "Love Minus Zero"/"No Limit," "Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again," "Tangled Up in Blue," "Gotta Serve Somebody," "Moonlight" and "Cold Irons Bound."

Dylan's first film role in more than 15 years, "Masked and Anonymous" follows the story of Jack Fate (Dylan), a wandering troubadour brought out of prison by his former manager for one last concert at a charity benefit. Also featured are Jeff Bridges, Penelope Cruz, John Goodman, Luke Wilson and Jessica Lange. The film opens July 24 in New York and the following day in Los Angeles.