Billboard Bits: Velvet Revolver, Prince, Lyrics Born

News on Velvet Revolver, Prince, Lyrics Born

VelvetVelvet Revolver, the new band featuring Guns N' Roses vets Slash, Duff McKagan and Matt Sorum, David Kushner of Suicidal Tendencies and former Stone Temple Pilots frontman Scott Weiland, will likely release an EP in the coming months via Immortal Records. The label has inked a new deal with RED Distribution; Immortal was previously distributed by Epic and Virgin.

To date, Velvet Revolver's lone available track is "Set Me Free," which was included on Decca's soundtrack to "The Hulk." The cut is No. 20 this week on Billboard's Mainstream Rock Tracks airplay chart.

Velvet Revolver joins the hard rock acts No One and Switched on Immortal's roster. The label expects to release a soundtrack album for the film "Blood Money" featuring Busta Rhymes and Xzibit by the end of the year.

-- Chris Morris, L.A.

PrinceThe ever-elusive Prince will on Aug. 19 unveil the first official DVD from his NPG Music Club, "Prince Live at the Aladdin Las Vegas." The set will be available to members of the artist's NPG Music Club
Web site as well as to traditional retail outlets via Hip-O Records.

The 80-minute DVD, recorded Dec. 15, 2002, during Prince's most recent U.S. tour, was previewed on the Web site in June, coinciding with the release of Prince's latest studio effort, the experimental "N.E.W.S."

The DVD features Prince and his New Power Generation band with guest appearances by Nikka Costa, Maceo Parker and Sheila E. During the show, Prince visited his classic '80s era with tunes like "Take Me With U," "Pop Life," "Gotta Broken (Heart) Again," "Housequake" and "Strange Relationship." He also includes a portion of a yet-to-be released song titled "U Want Me."

Other cuts on the concert DVD include "Family Name" and "The Everlasting Now" from 2001's "The Rainbow Children," Costa's "Push and Pull" and covers of the JB's "Pass the Peas" and Led Zeppelin's "Whole Lotta Love."

-- Troy Carpenter, N.Y.

LyricsLyrics Born, one-half of experimental rap duo Latyrx, will release his debut solo album, "Later That Day," Oct. 9 on Quannum Projects. The album will feature guest appearances by Blackalicious' Gift of Gab, Latyrx's Lateef the Truthspeaker, Joyo Velarde and the Poets of Rhythm.

Bay Area-based Lyrics Born is a charter member of the SoleSides/Quannum collective headed by DJ Shadow and Blackalicious. Meeting at the student radio station of the University of California-Davis in the early '90s, the crew became known for its experimental, forward-thinking hip-hop as epitomized by the Latyrx's 1997 full-length "The Album" (SoleSides).

-- Troy Carpenter, N.Y.