Tame Impala, Courtney Barnett Shortlisted for Australian Music Prize

Courtney Barnett
Cassandra Hannagan/WireImage

Courtney Barnett performs at Falls Festival on Jan. 1, 2016 in Byron Bay, Australia. 

Albums by Tame Impala and Courtney Barnett are among the 10 shortlisted for the 11th annual Australian Music Prize. 

Tame Impala’s third set Currents, Barnett’s Sometimes I Sit And Think, Sometimes I Just Sit and eight others have been selected to progress to the final of the AMP, with the winner announced March 9 in Sydney.

Tame Impala, Courtney Barnett Triumph at ARIA Awards 

Organizers on Wednesday said its longlist of 56 recordings had been tightened up to a list which also includes Dan Kelly’s Leisure Panic, Dick Diver’s Melbourne, Florida, Gold Class’ It's You, Jess Ribeiro’s Kill It Yourself, Methyl Ethel’s Oh Inhuman Spectacle, My Disco’s Severe, Royal Headache's High and Sarah Blasko’s Eternal Return.

The winner will receive A$30,000 ($25,000) in prize money donated by the PPCA collecting society.

Between them, Tame Impala and Courtney Barnett collected the lion’s share of honors handed out last year by the Australian music community (and they're both in with a chance at the Grammy Awards). Kevin Parker’s psychedelic rock outfit won for best group, best rock album and album of the year at the 2015 ARIA Awards, while Barnett won on the night for best female artist, breakthrough artist and best independent release. The singer-songwriter’s global breakthrough album also won Triple J’s prestigious J Award for album of the year. 

For just the second time in its history, the AMP shortlist has been boosted from nine to 10 albums due to the current crop representing "one of the strongest years we've ever had in Australian music" according to Hoodoo Gurus frontman Dave Faulkner, who serves as chair of the judging panel. 

Courtney Barnett: 'I've Never Followed The Grammys But Its Nice to Have That Recognition'

The AMP is modeled on Britain's Mercury Music Prize and Canada's Polaris Prize and is decided by a music industry panel, whose single goal is to identify and reward the outstanding creative Australian album of the past year. 

Outspoken rocker Henry Rollins will be the special guest speaker at the “Amped Up In Conversation” event in Sydney where the AMP winner will be announced.

The 11th Coopers AMP shortlist:

Courtney Barnett, "Sometimes I Sit And Think, Sometimes I Just"
Dan Kelly, "Leisure"
Dick Diver, "Melbourne, Florida"
Gold Class, "It's You"
Jess Ribeiro, "Kill It Yourself"
Methyl Ethel, "Oh Inhuman Spectacle"
My Disco, "Severe"
Royal Headache, "High"
Sarah Blasko, "Eternal Return"
Tame Impala, "Currents"


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.