Oscars: 'Star Wars: The Force Awakens' Among the 112 Films Eligible in Original Score Category

 John Williams
Paul Morigi/Getty Images for Capitol Concerts

 John Williams performs in Washington, DC on July 3, 2014.

If John Williams receives a nomination, it will be the 50th nom for the composer.

Three of John Williams’ seven Star Wars scores have been nominated for an Oscar. Will the score for Star Wars: The Force Awakens be his fourth?

Though there had been speculation that the legendary composer’s score for the latest entry in the Star Wars series might rely too much on past works, it is among the 112 scores from feature-length motion pictures deemed eligible for the original score Academy Award that were announced today by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Science. Should Williams receive a nomination, it will be his 50th. Among his five previous scores was his music for the 1977 original Star Wars, now retitled Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope.


Among the works deemed not eligible was Atticus Ross’s score for the Brian Wilson biopic, Love & Mercy. Ross, who won an Oscar for his work on The Social Network (with Trent Reznor) used samples and snippets of Wilson’s work, as well as his own orchestrations, in creating the score for the movie.

Academy rules state: “to be eligible, the original score most be a substantial body of music that serves as original dramatic underscoring and must be written specifically for the motion picture by the submitting composer.  Scores diluted by the use of tracked themes or other preexisting music, diminished in impact by the predominant use of songs, or assembled from the music of more than one composer shall not be eligible.”

Thomas Newman, a strong contender for his score for Bridge of Spies, and Christophe Beck have the most eligible scores, with four entries each. James Newton Howard, Danny Elfman, Michael Giacchino and the late James Horner each have three eligible scores on the list.

The nominations for the 88th Academy Awards will be announced Jan. 14, 2016. 

The complete list of eligible scores follows:

Adult Beginners, Marcelo Zarvos, composer
The Age of Adaline, Rob Simonsen, composer
Altered Minds, Edmund Choi, composer
Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Road Chip, Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
Anomalisa, Carter Burwell, composer
Ant-Man, Christophe Beck, composer
Beasts of No Nation, Dan Romer, composer
The Big Short, Nicholas Britell, composer
Black Mass, Tom Holkenborg, composer
Bridge of Spies, Thomas Newman, composer
Brooklyn, Michael Brook, composer
Burnt, Rob Simonsen, composer
By the Sea, Gabriel Yared, composer
Carol, Carter Burwell, composer
Cartel Land, H. Scott Salinas and Jackson Greenberg, composers
Chi-Raq, Terence Blanchard, composer
Cinderella, Patrick Doyle, composer
Coming Home, Qigang Chen, composer
Concussion, James Newton Howard, composer
Creed, Ludwig Goransson, composer
The Danish Girl, Alexandre Desplat, composer
The Divergent Series: Insurgent, Joseph Trapanese, composer
Dukhtar, Peter Nashel, composer
The End of the Tour, Danny Elfman, composer
Everest, Dario Marianelli, composer
Ex Machina, Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow, composers
Far From the Madding Crowd, Craig Armstrong, composer
Fifty Shades of Grey, Danny Elfman, composer
5 Flights Up, David Newman, composer
Frame by Frame, Patrick Jonsson, composer
Freedom, James Lavino, composer
Furious 7, Brian Tyler, composer
The Good Dinosaur, Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna, composers
Goosebumps, Danny Elfman, composer
Grandma, Joel P. West, composer
The Hateful Eight, Ennio Morricone, composer
He Named Me Malala, Thomas Newman, composer
Hot Pursuit, Christophe Beck, composer
Hot Tub Time Machine 2, Christophe Beck, composer
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 2, James Newton Howard, composer
The Hunting Ground, Miriam Cutler, composer
I Smile Back, Zack Ryan, composer
I'll See You in My Dreams, Keegan DeWitt, composer
In the Heart of the Sea, Roque Baños, composer
Inside Out, Michael Giacchino, composer
The Intern, Theodore Shapiro, composer
It Follows, Disasterpeace, composer
Jalam, Ouesppachan, composer
Jurassic World, Michael Giacchino, composer
Kahlil Gibran's The Prophet, Gabriel Yared, composer
Kingsman: The Secret Service, Henry Jackman and Matthew Margeson, composers
Krampus, Douglas Pipes, composer
La Jaula de Oro, Jacobo Lieberman and Leonardo Heiblum, composers
The Lady in the Van, George Fenton, composer
The Last Witch Hunter, Steve Jablonsky, composer
Learning to Drive, Dhani Harrison and Paul Hicks, composers
Legend, Carter Burwell, composer
Little Accidents, Marcelo Zarvos, composer
The Longest Ride, Mark Isham, composer
Mad Max: Fury Road, Tom Holkenborg, composer
The Man from U.N.C.L.E., Daniel Pemberton, composer
The Martian, Harry Gregson-Williams, composer
Max, Trevor Rabin, composer
Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials, John Paesano, composer
Meru, J. Ralph, composer
Minions, Heitor Pereira, composer
Mr. Holmes, Carter Burwell, composer
Mistress America, Dean Wareham and Britta Phillips, composers
My All American, John Paesano, composer
Nachom-ia Kumpasar, Ronnie Monsorate, composer
99 Homes, Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales, composers
Our Brand Is Crisis, David Wingo, composer
Pan, John Powell, composer
Paper Towns, Son Lux, composer
Paranoid Girls, Javier del Santo, composer
Pawn Sacrifice, James Newton Howard, composer
The Peanuts Movie, Christophe Beck, composer
Pixels, Henry Jackman, composer
Poached, Mark Orton, composer
Pod, Giona Ostinelli, composer
Poltergeist, Marc Streitenfeld, composer
Racing Extinction, J. Ralph, composer
Room, Stephen Rennicks, composer
Salt Bridge, Marciano Telese, composer
San Andreas, Andrew Lockington, composer
The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Thomas Newman, composer
Set Fire to the Stars, Gruff Rhys, composer
Shaun the Sheep Movie, Ilan Eshkeri, composer
Sicario, Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer
Southpaw, James Horner, composer
Spectre, Thomas Newman, composer
The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water, John Debney, composer
Spotlight, Howard Shore, composer
Spy, Theodore Shapiro, composer
Star Wars: The Force Awakens, John Williams, composer
Steve Jobs, Daniel Pemberton, composer
Steve McQueen: The Man & Le Mans, Jim Copperthwaite, composer
Stonewall, Rob Simonsen, composer
Suffragette, Alexandre Desplat, composer
Taken 3, Nathaniel Mechaly, composer
Ted 2, Walter Murphy, composer
Testament of Youth, Max Richter, composer
The 33, James Horner, composer
Tomorrowland, Michael Giacchino, composer
True Story, Marco Beltrami, composer
Trumbo, Theodore Shapiro, composer
Truth, Brian Tyler, composer
Victor Frankenstein, Craig Armstrong, composer
The Walk, Alan Silvestri, composer
The Water Diviner, David Hirschfelder, composer
Wolf Totem, James Horner, composer
Z for Zachariah, Heather McIntosh, composer

This article was originally published by The Hollywood Reporter.

Oscars 2016