'Straight Outta Compton' Unreleased Director's Cut, Soundtrack & Score Arriving in January

Universal Pictures
A still from the 2015 film "Straight Outta Compton."

The unreleased director’s cut, soundtrack and score of the N.W.A biopic Straight Outta Compton are headed straight for the new year. 

The F. Gary Gray production -- which hit theaters this past August -- will roll out two releases, Straight Outta Compton: The Soundtrack (not the same as Dr. Dre's recent release Compton) and Straight Outta Compton: Original Motion Picture Score.

Billboard Cover: Kendrick Lamar Interviews N.W.A About Coming 'Straight Outta Compton' and Changing the World

According to Rolling Stone, the soundtrack will feature re-mastered versions of the rebellious rap group’s hits like “Fuck Tha Police,” “Express Yourself” and “Straight Outta Compton.” The score will carry original music composed and conducted for the blockbuster flick by Joseph Trapanese. Straight Outta Compton will also be available on Digital HD on Jan. 5 and Blu-ray and DVD on Jan. 19.

Keeping it real on the music front for Straight Outta Compton was a top priority for the characters and show runners involved. 

N.W.A Takes Over Charts, Gets First Top 40 Hit on Hot 100

“The fact that we’re using new, talented black artists is very important,” Dre, one of the film’s producers, said in a new vignette. “We didn’t wanna go out and get the typical black actors that are out there, doing their thing. It would’ve made it feel funny and possibly a little fake.”

Actors Jason Mitchell (who plays Eazy-E), Ice Cube's real-life son O'Shea Jackson Jr. (Cube) and Corey Hawkins (Dre) even received on-set coaching from the prolific producer.

'Welcome to Death Row' Shopped As 'Sequel' to 'Straight Outta Compton'

View the full track lists for Straight Outta Compton: The Soundtrack and Straight Outta Compton: Original Motion Picture Score below before they both hit shelves Jan. 8.

Straight Outta Compton: The Soundtrack

1. N.W.A - "Straight Outta Compton"

2. Parliament - "Flash Light"

3. Eazy-E - "We Want Eazy"

4. N.W.A - "Gangsta Gangsta"

5. Funkadelic - "(Not Just) Knee Deep"

6. Eazy-E - "The Boyz-N-The Hood"

7. Roy Ayers Ubiquity - "Everybody Loves the Sunshine"

8. N.W.A - "Dopeman (Remix)"

9. N.W.A - "Fuck tha Police"

10. N.W.A - "Express Yourself"

11. Steve Arrington's Hall of Fame - "Weak at the Knees"

12. N.W.A - "Quiet on tha Set"

13. N.W.A - "8 Ball (Remix)"

14. Ice Cube - "The Nigga Ya Love to Hate"

15. N.W.A - "Real Niggaz"

16. Ice Cube - "No Vaseline"

17. Dr. Dre - "Nuthin' But a 'G' Thang" (ft. Snoop Dogg)

Straight Outta Compton: Original Motion Picture Score

1. "Police Bust"

2. "Dre and Tyree"

3. "Our Block"

4. "News from Home"

5. "Detroit"

6. "Give Me My Money"

7. "Lench Mob vs. Ruthless"

8. "Visitation"

9. "We Were Brothers"

10. "Bompton"

11. "Pistol Whipped"

12. "Uprising"

13. "Reflections"

14. "Dre Chase"

15. "Without Jerry"

16. "Legacy"

17. "Tribute for Eazy" (ft. Mike Lang) (Bonus)


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.