Barbra Streisand, James Taylor, Gloria Estefan & Steven Spielberg Awarded Presidential Medal of Freedom

Jason Merritt/Getty Images
Barbara Streisand attends the premiere of Paramount Pictures' "The Guilt Trip at Regency Village Theatre on Dec. 11, 2012 in Westwood, Calif. 

Director Steven Spielberg, composer Stephen Sondheim and multi-hyphenate Barbra Streisand are set to be awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the Obama administration said on Monday. 

Producer Emilio Estefan, singer-songwriter Gloria Estefan, conductor Itzhak Perlman and singer James Taylor are also among Hollywood notables who will receive the honor on Nov. 24 at the White House. 

Barbra Streisand to Be Honored at The Hollywood Reporter Women in Entertainment Breakfast

“I look forward to presenting these 17 distinguished Americans with our nation’s highest civilian honor," said the President in a statement. "From public servants who helped us meet defining challenges of our time to artists who expanded our imaginations, from leaders who have made our union more perfect to athletes who have inspired millions of fans, these men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans.”

The full list of 17 recipients is here

This article originally appeared on The Hollywood Reporter.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.