CMA Awards 2018

'Future Soundtrack For America' Revealed

Barsuk Records has taken the wraps off of its forthcoming fundraising compilation, "Future Soundtrack for America."

Barsuk Records has taken the wraps off of its forthcoming fundraising compilation, "Future Soundtrack for America." The set comprises 22 tracks, all previously unreleased and donated by such artists as Blink-182, R.E.M., the Flaming Lips, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Fountains Of Wayne. As exclusively revealed here last month, the disc was assembled by They Might Be Giants' John Flansburgh.

"As a citizen, I felt like we're living in an extreme time and I feel I'm very nervous and unhappy with the state of the world and I wanted to do something other than just shake my fist at the TV," he recently told

Among the songs are "This Will Be Our Year" by former Talking Heads frontman David Byrne, the Sleater-Kinney track "Off With Your Head" and "Money" by the Black Eyed Peas' They Might Be Giants add their interpretation of the 1840 William Henry Harrison campaign song "Tippecanoe and Tyler Too," while former Soul Coughing frontman Mike Doughty performs "Move On."

Two of the cuts are live recordings originally broadcast in England by the BBC: the Flaming Lips' "Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots" and Jimmy Eat World's cover of Guided By Voices' "Game of Pricks." Also contributing live songs are Bright Eyes ("Going for the Gold") and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs ("Date With the Night").

Tom Waits contributes "Day After Tomorrow," which will also appear on his forthcoming album, "Real Gone" (Anti-), when it is released in October.

The album closes with "A Distorted Reality Is Now a Necessity To Be Free," an unreleased Elliott Smith track that was donated by the late singer/songwriter's estate. It is unknown if the song will appear on the posthumous Smith album his family is in the process of finishing.

The disc will be available Aug. 10 via traditional and online retailers, although Barsuk's Web site suggests that those on the e-mail list may be able to obtain it earlier.

The compilation will include copies of "The Future Dictionary of America." The McSweeney's Publishing book will boast contributions from an nearly 200 writers, including Joyce Carol Oates, Kurt Vonnegut, Paul Auster and Michael Chabon.

"One hundred percent of the proceeds from the book and CD projects will go to non-profit progressive organizations," according to Barsuk., Music for America, Common Assets and the Sierra Club are among the groups targeted.

Here is the "Future Soundtrack for America" track list:

"This Will Be Our Year," OK Go
"Ain't Got So Far To Go," David Byrne
"Game of Pricks" (BBC Evening Session), Jimmy Eat World
"This Temporary Life," Death Cab For Cutie
"I Miss You" (James Guthrie mix), Blink-182
"Move On," Mike Doughty
"Jerry Falwell Destroyed the Earth," Ben Kweller
"Off With Your Head," Sleater-Kinney
"Final Straw (MoveOn mix)," R.E.M.
"Going for the Gold" (live)," Bright Eyes
"The Commander Thinks Aloud" (future mix), the Long Winters
"Tippecanoe and Tyler Too," They Might Be Giants
"The Ballad of David Icke," Clem Snide
"Date With the Night" (live), Yeah Yeah Yeahs
"Everything's Ruined" (acoustic), Fountains Of Wayne
"Your Legs Grow," Nada Surf
"Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots" (live on the BBC), the Flaming Lips
"Northern Line," Old 97's
"Sam Stone," Laura Cantrell
"Day After Tomorrow," Tom Waits
"A Distorted Reality Is Now a Necessity To Be Free," Elliott Smith