Enya Returns with 'Dark Sky Island,' Shares New Single 'Echoes in Rain'



Enya has announced her first album release in seven years. 

The ethereal Irish singer-songwriter’s new set Dark Sky Island will drop Nov. 20, her record company Warner Bros has announced. 

The new recording is the culmination of roughly three years’ work between Enya and her producer and sound engineer Nicky Ryan and lyricist Roma Ryan, her so-called “creative triumvirate.”

Enya Reveals New Album Track List

Dark Sky Island was inspired by Ryan's work on a series of poetry books themed around islands and specifically the island of Sark’s recognition in 2011 as the first “dark sky island” on the planet (its exceptionally dark night sky apparently allows for remarkable stargazing).

“This album has a theme of journeys,” comments Enya in a statement. “Journeys to the island; through the length of a lifetime; through history, through emotions; and journeys across great oceans. So although it’s not a ‘themed’ album, as such, we nevertheless have an underlying connection between songs.”

Enya Reveals New Album Track List

The album’s title track was the first song to be written for the longplayer while the first song lifted from it, "Echoes in Rain," was the final track to be completed. Dark Sky Island is the follow-up to 2008’s Christmas-timed And Winter Came…, which has a No. 8 peak on the Billboard 200. The lyric video for "Echoes in Rain" can be seen below.

Dark Sky Island tracklist:

1.    The Humming
2.    So I Could Find My Way
3.    Even in the Shadows
4.    The Forge of the Angels
5.    Echoes in Rain
6.    I Could Never Say Goodbye
7.    Dark Sky Island
8.    Sancta Maria
9.    Astra et Luna
10.  The Loxian Gates
11.  Diamonds on the Water