Tracy Morgan Joins Lineup for Eddie Murphy Salute

Tracy Morgan
Theo Wargo/Getty Images for Spike TV

Tracy Morgan speaks onstage at Spike TV's 'Don Rickles: One Night Only' on May 6, 2014 in New York City.

Tracy Morgan will help salute Eddie Murphy as he receives the nation's top prize for humor at the Kennedy Center in Washington later this month.

The Kennedy Center announced the addition of Morgan, Alabama Shakes' Brittany Howard and George Lopez to the lineup Monday (Oct. 5). Murphy will be awarded the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor on Oct. 18.

A Long Q&A With Eddie Murphy: 'SNL,' Making Reggae Music, Hanging Out With Bowie & Michael Jackson's Spirit

Performers include stars from Saturday Night Live, where Murphy had his early breakout, including Chris Rock, Jay Pharoah, Kevin Nealon and Joe Piscopo. Other performers include Kathy Griffin, Arsenio Hall, Dave Chappelle, Trevor Noah and Whitney Cummings.

The tribute show will be broadcast Nov. 23 on PBS.

The humor prize honors those who influence society in the tradition of Samuel Clemens, the writer and satirist known as Mark Twain.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.