Alex Ebert & Geoff Barrow Among World Soundtrack Discovery Award Nominees: Exclusive

Emma McIntyre/Getty Images
Alex Ebert of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros performs live on Day Three of the Osheaga Music and Arts Festival on August 2, 2015 in Montreal, Canada. 

The emerging composers nominated for the World Soundtrack Awards' prestigious Discovery of the Year award are Alex Ebert (A Most Violent Year), Dominic Lewis (Spooks, The Greater Good), Antonio Sanchez (Birdman), Ben Salisbury & Geoff Barrow (Ex Machina) and Zhiyi Want (But Always, Highway of Love).

The award will be presented at the Oct. 24 World Soundtrack Awards, the closing event at Film Fest Gent in Belgium.

Why 'Back to the Future' Composer Is Writing New Music for the Film

Composers who have not scored more than six theatrically released feature films are eligible for the award. In addition to the honor, the winner will perform at the 16th World Soundtrack Awards in 2016.

"If you are looking for the next generation of great composers, you just have to look at the World Soundtrack Discovery Awards, where composers [such] as Michael Giacchino, Gustavo Santaolalla, Craig Armstrong and Abel Korzeniowski were acknowledged early on in their career by the WSAwards Advisory Board," says Gent Film Festival artistic director Patrick Duynslaegher.

A group of 370 international music professionals select and vote for the nominees.

Other highlights at this year's World Soundtrack Awards include the presentation of the lifetime-achievement award to Patrick Doyle, a performance by 2014's Discovery winner Daniel Pemberton and the Brussels Philharmonic's salute to Alan Silvestri, including his scores for the Back to the Future trilogy and Forrest Gump and the world premiere of his score for The Walk.

Previously announced nominations include:

Film Composer of the Year
Bruno Coulais: Song of the Sea, Gemma Bovary, 3 Hearts, Diary of a Chambermaid Fly Away Solo
Alexandre Desplat: Unbroken, The Imitation Game, Everything Will Be Fine, Tale of Tales
Michael Giacchino: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Inside Out, Jupiter Ascending, Jurassic World, Tomorrowland
Johann Johannsson: The Theory of Everything, The 11th Hour, Sicario
Hans Zimmer: Interstellar, Chappie

Best Original Film Score Of The Year
Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Antonio Sanchez
Cinderella, Patrick Doyle
The Imitation Game,  Alexandre Desplat
Interstellar,  Hans Zimmer
The Theory of Everything, Johann Johannsson

Best Original Song Written For A Film
"The Apology Song" from The Book of Life: Music by Gustavo Santaolalla, lyrics by Paul Williams
"Carry Me Home" from Insurgent: Music & lyrics by Joseph Trapanese & Christopher Taylor
"Glory" from Selma: Music & lyrics by John Legend, Common and Rhymefest
"Grateful" from Beyond the Lights: Music & lyrics by Diane Warren
"Tell Me" from Lost River: Music & lyrics by Johnny Jewel