David Gilmour Shares New Album Details, North America Tour Dates

David Gilmour
Credit Kevin Westerberg

David Gilmour

Pink Floyd frontman David Gilmour has finally dropped details of his forthcoming solo studio album. The ten-track Rattle That Lock will earn a worldwide release on Sept. 18, and will enjoy a push with a handful of North America shows early next year. 

The British guitar great had revealed back in March that a new album was coming, and his team alerted European fans that he’ll be touring the Continent and the U.K. this September.

David Gilmour Announces New Solo Album, European Tour

He’ll augment those live shows with four dates in the U.S. and Canada, his first there in ten years. He’ll kick things off with a show March 24 at L.A.’s Hollywood Bowl, before pulling in to Toronto’s ACC, Chicago’s United Center and wrapping April 11 at Madison Square Garden in New York.
The primary lyricist on the forthcoming release is Gilmour’s long-term writing partner Polly Samson, and it’s co-produced by Gilmour and Roxy Music’s Phil Manzanera.

Rattle That Lock follows the release last year of Pink Floyd's The Endless River, the band's first record since 1994's The Division Bell, and likely their last. The album reportedly reached No. 1 in 21 countries, and was one of the U.K.'s 10 best-selling albums of 2014.

See Pink Floyd's 15 Albums Ranked From Highest to Lowest Charting

Gilmour’s most recent solo album On An Island peaked at No. 1 in his homeland and No. 6 in the U.S. following its release in 2006. He hasn’t toured since.

David Gilmour's 2016 U.S. tour dates:
March 24 – Hollywood Bowl, L.A.
March 31 – ACC, Toronto  
April 8 – United Center, Chicago
April 11 – Madison Square Garden, New York

"Rattle That Lock" track listing: 
1. "5 A.M"
2. "Rattle That Lock"
3. "Faces Of Stone"
4. "A Boat Lies Waiting"
5. "Dancing Right In Front Of Me"
6. "In Any Tongue"
7. "Beauty"
8. "The Girl In The Yellow Dress"
9. "Today"
10. "And Then…"