Thundercat Shares First Song Off Surprise Mini-Album 'The Beyond/Where the Giants Roam'

Courtesy Photo


Thundercat, the mind-bending bassist/singer-songwriter who's been quietly contributing to some of the year's buzziest releases (Kendrick Lamar's To Pimp A Butterfly and Kamasi Washington's The Epic among them), is back with new music of his own for the first time in two years.

Thundercat Q&A: Coping With Loss, Surprising Snoop, and the Jazz Roots of Mac Miller

The Beyond/Where The Giants Roam, a six song mini-album that features production from longtime collaborator Flying Lotus as well as a feature by jazz legend Herbie Hancock, is the long-awaited follow-up to 2013's acclaimed Apocalypse.

What makes his music so special, as evidenced throughout Apocalypse as well as on the mini-album's first release "Them Changes" (which you can hear below), is the alchemy between his eternally funky (and virtuosic) bass playing and his clear falsetto harmonies. Nothing about Thundercat says "pop," but his music is as eminently listenable as whichever Taylor Swift single is sitting atop the charts. 

How Kendrick Lamar Transformed Into 'The John Coltrane of Hip-Hop' on 'To Pimp a Butterfly'

Listen to "Them Changes," which features production from Flying Lotus and saxophone from Kamasi Washington, and pick up The Beyond/Where The Giants Roam next Monday, June 22 via Brainfeeder.

The Beyond/Where The Giants Roam Track List

1. Hard Times
2. Song for the Dead
3. Them Changes
4. Lone Wolf and Cub
5. That Moment
6. Where the Giants Roam / Field of the Nephilim