New Covers Disc Completes Ozzy Box

A 10-track disc of cover songs will be the gem inside Epic's four-disc Ozzy Osbourne box set, "Bible of Ozz."

A 10-track disc of cover songs will be the gem inside Epic's four-disc Ozzy Osbourne box set, "Bible of Ozz." Due Feb. 8, the 52-track collection will cull studio and live highlights from the Black Sabbath frontman's solo career, unusual collaborations and newly recorded versions of the heavy metal icon's favorite songs.

Among the tracks tackled on the "Under Covers" disc is a version of Mountain's "Mississippi Queen," which features that band's guitarist, Leslie West. Other cuts include King Crimson's "21st Century Schizoid Man," the Jeff Beck Group's "Hi Ho Silver Lining," Mott The Hoople's "All the Young Dudes" and the Rolling Stones' "Sympathy for the Devil."

The covers disc, which includes guest appearances by former Alice In Chains guitarist Jerry Cantrell and "Sacred Steel" purveyor Robert Randolph, closes with Osbourne's 2003 cover of Black Sabbath's "Changes" with his daughter Kelly.

A mix of studio, concert and demo recordings will populate two discs in the box. Studio versions of such notable Osbourne songs as "Crazy Train," "Mr. Crowley" and "No More Tears" will butt up against live versions of classics like "Bark at the Moon" and "Suicide Solution."

Also featured will be demos of "I Don't Want To Change The World," "Mama, I'm Coming Home," "Desire, "Won't Be Coming Home," "See You On the Other Side," "Walk on Water" and "Bang Bang," which is an early incarnation of the song "Facing Hell." The final version appeared on Osbourne's 2001 release "Down to Earth."

Another disc shows the extent of Ozzy's reach as a pop culture icon by showcasing the accurately named "Oddities and Duets." Even before he became a TV superstar through his hit MTV reality series "The Osbournes," Ozzy recorded Black Sabbath songs and covers with everyone from the Wu Tang Clan (on their "For Heavens Sake") and Dweezil Zappa (the Bee Gees' "Stayin' Alive") to Muppet queen Miss Piggy (Steppenwolf's "Born To Be Wild") and pop/funk experimentalists Was (Not Was) (on their "Shake Your Head (Let's Go To Bed)").

More than 35 years into his professional career, Osbourne is more visible and popular than ever. As the founder of the annual traveling metal tour Ozzfest, he carries the torch for a new generation of heavy music bands and fans. Through "The Osbournes," he has shown himself dealing with the challenges of being a father and husband.

Next week, MTV will bow the new reality show "Battle for Ozzfest," where he and wife/manager Sharon will evaluate bands competing for a chance to play on the 2005 tour. In January, the network will premiere the fourth and final season of "The Osbournes."

Here is the "Prince of Darkness" track list:

Disc one:
"I Don't Know" (live)
"Mr. Crowley"
"Crazy Train"
"Goodbye to Romance" (live)
"Suicide Solution" (live)
"Over the Mountain"
"Flying High Again" (live)
"You Can't Kill Rock and Roll"
"Diary of a Madman"
"Bark at the Moon" (live b-side)
"Spiders" (b-side)
"Rock and Roll Rebel"
"You're No Different"

Disc two:
"Ultimate Sin" (live)
"Never Know Why" (live)
"Thank God for the Bomb" (live)
"Crazy Babies"
"Breaking All the Rules"
"I Don't Want To Change the World" (demo)
"Mama, I'm Coming Home" (demo)
"Desire" (demo)
"No More Tears" (single version)
"Won't Be Coming Home" (demo)
"Perry Mason" (from Ozzfest live album)
"See You on the Other Side" (demo)
"Walk on Water" (demo)
"Gets Me Through" (live)
"Bang Bang" (original demo for "Facing Hell")

Disc three:
"Iron Man" (Osbourne with Therapy)
"N.I.B" (Osbourne with Primus)
"Purple Haze" (Osbourne with Zakk Wylde, Randy Castillo and Geezer Butler)
"Pictures of Matchstick Men" (Osbourne with Type O Negative)
"Shake Your Head (Let's Go To Bed)" (Osbourne with Was (Not Was))
"Born To Be Wild" (Osbourne with Miss Piggy)
"Nowhere To Run (Vapor Trail)" (Osbourne with Crystal Method, DMX, 'Ol Dirty Bastard and Fuzzbuble)
"Led Clones" (Osbourne with Gary Moore)
"For Heavens Sake" (Osbourne with Tony Iommi and Wu-Tang Clan)
"I Ain't No Nice Guy" (Osbourne with Motorhead)
"Therapy" (Osbourne with Infectious Grooves)
"Stayin' Alive" (Osbourne with Dweezil Zappa)

Disc four:
"Good Times" (originally recorded by Eric Burdon)
"21st Century Schizoid Man" (originally recorded by King Crimson)
"In My Life" (originally recorded by the Beatles)
"Mississippi Queen" (originally recorded by Mountain)
"For What It's Worth" (originally recorded by the Buffalo Springfield)
"Fire" (originally recorded by Arthur Brown)
"Hi Ho Silver Lining" (originally recorded by the Jeff Beck Group)
"All The Young Dudes" (originally recorded by Mott the Hoople)
"Sympathy for the Devil (originally recorded by the Rolling Stones)
"Changes" (duet with Kelly Osbourne; originally recorded by Black Sabbath)


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.